Fire Danger Signs

May 11, 2007

firedangerl.jpg

Many communities with firedanger from forest fires, brush fires, and back alley fires place danger signs by the side of main roads. I presume the intent is to warn people not to do stupid things such as toss a lighted cigarette out the window of a car, burn trash in their backyard, or try to dispose of a body by pouring gasline on it and setting it on fire.

Unfortunately, people who need these kinds of warnings seldom pay attention to them.

Early in my marriage, I thought of posting a couple of similar signs on the wall. I never did. While neither of us is fireproof, I guess my wife and I are a bit flame retardant, though in my case the word “flame” is perhaps superfluous.

2 Responses to “Fire Danger Signs”

  1. davidrochester Says:

    So when fire danger is high, how are people supposed to dispose of dead bodies? The least the authorities could do would be to post another sign listing viable alternatives. These examples of bureaucratic thoughtlessness never cease to amaze me. They’re just not in touch with the people, you know?

  2. modestypress Says:

    I don’t know how you did it, David, but this comment keeps coming up for approval over and over and over again. It’s the ghost comment post that won’t die. Speaking of dead bodies.


Leave a Reply

