1G Resource Controversies

May 27, 2007

Not all claims of coming shortages are accepted by everyone.

For example, many people argue that the earth is undergoing Global Warming.

This claim implies we are going to face a shortage of cool people.

Some argue that there has never been an abundant supply of cool people.

Others consider themselves very cool indeed.

This debate leads me to wonder: Is there a corresponding controversy involving an alleged shortage of unnatural resources? I will point out a possibility in my next post.

8 Responses to “1G Resource Controversies”

  1. BONGO MIRROR Says:

    I have a shortage of categories. I don’t have a clue what to do about this and will greatly appreciate your guidance.

  2. modestypress Says:

    I have too many, no doubt. Maybe we can meet somewhere in the middle.

  3. jennymac Says:

    You are cool. My part of the globe is exceedingly warm. These things I know. FTL, jen

  4. vroni1208 Says:

    How do cool people know they are cool? I always have to have a heater running because I am always cool…does that make me cool, or does that make me cold? My head hurts…

  5. modestypress Says:

    Cool people never wonder if they are cool People who have to ask if they are cool are not cool. However, in my non-church of radical agnosticism, I am considered to have unnatural powers, so by those powers vested in me, I declare, you, vroni, to be a cool person. Everyone should now visit vroni’s blog and bask in her life-giving coolth.

  6. vroni1208 Says:

    I’m honored! (Darn, now I have to write things of substance!) D’oh!

  7. modestypress Says:

    OK, here’s a question of substance. Why does Homer say “D’oh” instead of “Duh.” (I don’t watch much television, so this may be something everybody but me knows. On the other hand, it may not be very important. On the other hand, it may be something that no one but me has ever wondered. On the other hand, how can I have three–now four–hands?

  8. Cameron Says:

    D’oh expresses recognition that the speaker has done something possibly dumb. Leaving the gas pump attached to your car and driving off = d’oh.
    Duh is often used toward another person criticizing what the second person doesn’t know. “Didn’t you know that molecular weight of water outweighs helium? Duh!” Occasionally it can be used self-deprecatingly as well.

    So many nuances! 🙂


Leave a Reply

