3E Weapon Gathering Techniques for Beginning Hunters

July 17, 2007

After the Friendly Neighbor shot the latest little bunny in our garden with his air rifle (though really spring rifle) pellet gun, I set forth to get a similar air rifle.

It is a widely held belief in some quarters that it is far too easy for a deranged person to buy a gun. This may be true if a deranged person want to kill another person. However, if a deranged person wants to kill a rabbit, even a flock of rabbits, the bunnies are fairly safe. The 2nd Amendment provides very little assistance.(I qualify by noting that there may be militias that specialize in rabbit hunting.)

I visited a large sporting goods store near where I work. I approached a counter in front of many weapons. Two young men about 22 years of age greeted me. One wore earrings. The other, N, was slightly more conventional in appearance.

I explained that I needed an air rifle to kill rabbits. I mentioned that I had seen an advertisement of such a rifle on sale. I explained that I am a weapons idiot and would be putty in their hands, and they could easily sell me any junk they felt in the mood for disposing of, but that I hoped they would sell me something useful

The two young men were pleasant and helpful. I believe they are a credit to their employer and their cohort. It was fairly early in the morning, and I suspect they had many tasks to do in preparation for their day of arming the public, so their attention wandered a bit at times from my questions, but I never really lost them.

We fairly quickly focused on three air rifles. #1 was on sale. #2 was not on sale, but shot special pellets at a higher speed. #3 was a different brand than #1 and #2.

There was a certain amount of confusion about the prices of each air rifle. There was a certain amount of confusion about whether or not each rifle came with a scope or not.

Friendly Neighbor’s rifle has a scope, which he has carefully “sighted” (calibrated) for his size, height, arm length, and taste in breakfast cereals.

This led to discussions of whether a scope could be added to a rifle that did not come with a scope. Earrings brought out a scope that he said could be added. N said it was a scope for a rifle (meaning a rifle that fired bullets) and not a scope for an air rifle. They both looked at me and waited politely, as if I had something intelligent to contribute to the discussion.

Actually, I felt dizzy. Also, it was time to get to work. I realized I was not ready to make a stupid decision. Stupid decisions should not be rushed.

I said, “I have taken up a lot of your time. I am not ready to make a decision. Are you gentleman paid on commission? Because, if I come back later and buy one of these air rifles, I want you to get compensation for putting up with me.”

Earrings laughed sardonically. “No. If you told my boss that you bought a rifle because I helped you, he would say, ‘Good. Please get on with stocking the shelves.’”

I thanked them. I left for work, unarmed. [to be continued]

4 Responses to “3E Weapon Gathering Techniques for Beginning Hunters”

  1. Ela Says:

    what is the second amendment?

  2. modestypress Says:

    Amendment II (the Second Amendment) of the United States Constitution, which is part of the Bill of Rights, declares a well regulated militia as “being necessary to the security of a free State”, and prohibits Congress from infringement of “the right of the people to keep and bear arms.”

    Wikipedia

  3. Cameron Says:

    Dear Random, you cannot leave us in such suspense!!

  4. stevo Says:

    I never had an air rifle as a child. My parents’ families were from a rural area where rifles were a part of life. We resided in an urban setting. My father always promised to teach me to shoot, but died before doing so. I taught myself as a strange tribute to the activity we never shared.

    Weapons can be difficult to purchase. So much lingo, etc. A scope is a good idea if Friendly Neighbor can help you “zero” it. The drawback being if you knock/drop the air rifle you’ll probably have to recalibrate it.

    Your tale was an eerie echo of my own experience buying an air rifle in a large sporting goods store. There was mass confusion over prices, etc. They had to order the one I wanted. Because of the confusion they in fact ordered me a real rifle. Kids today…


Leave a Reply

