Rochesterisms

September 14, 2007

David Rochester used to write blog posts I called Rochesterisms. He doesn’t so much any more, perhaps because he is breaking on through to the other side.

I used to write imitation Rochesterisms. There may not be much to imitate any more, but little details such as that don’t stop me.

Wednesday morning (after I had come home late Tuesday night and noticed the plumbing not working), my wife told me the plumbing was not working. After a visit from the plumber we learned that the pressure tank was not working. The good news was that he could slip into town and pick one up and install it that day. The other good news (for him) was that we had enough money in our checking account to cover the $900 to replace the old pressure tank (which had one-year warranty) in our still pretty new (two years old) house.

I will write the pressure tank company a fan letter with copies to our general contractor and installation plumbing contractor. I’m don’t expect anything to happen. I’m just getting my yahyahs out.

Yesterday, I was teaching a computer class and writing something profound on the white board in front of the computers. It was so profound (though I no longer remember what it was) that I chose to use a red white board pen for emphasis instead of my usual black white board pen. After I wrote it, and later thought of something more urgent (if less profound) to write, and started to erase the red white board writing, I realized that a very alert and intelligent person had left a permanent red marker on the tray under the white board. Whatever it was, it was not so profound it needed to be on the white board permanently.

10 Responses to “Rochesterisms”

  1. teaspoon Says:

    I wish that you had posted the link to ozymandias earlier in the day. This morning I was struggling with a crossword puzzle which had a line from ozymandias as a clue. I didn’t know the answer. Now I do, but I no longer have the puzzle.

  2. modestypress Says:

    I need to use my time machine to go back in time and post the link at an earlier time for your convenience.


  3. 1) I seem to recall that I used to be a great deal more readable and generally charming, in a neurotic sort of way. I really miss myself.

    2) Please don’t imitate whatever the hell it is that I’m doing now.

  4. modestypress Says:

    David item 2): I am planning something worse. It involves H.P Lovecraft.


  5. *screaming* It’s going to involve the zucchini, right?

  6. vroni1208 Says:

    David has gotten so serious of late…I will come here for my Rochesterism’s which I miss so much. 😉

    I hate when things are not put back properly in there place! (Mother yelling, “This is why we can’t have nice things!”) I will never microwave one of her plastic Cool-Whip bowls again.

  7. modestypress Says:

    I don’t suppose you have a photgraph of the platic Cool-Whip bowl after it was microwaved? The zucchini might like living in it.

  8. mommy Says:

    Had that problem, myself, once. Quickly picked up a real white-board marker and scribbled all over the perm writing. I was then able to wipe out the whole mess.

  9. vroni1208 Says:

    Sadly, the “formerly a bowl” was thrown out. The zucchini might not like living in the dumpster…then again…

  10. missholley Says:

    $900….crap!

    Permanent red marker…double crap!

    Vroni…you make me laugh.


Leave a Reply

