Bo Has Not Lost Her Sheep

October 13, 2007

We met the Barely Extended Family at a sheep farm. Bo was not little, did not peep, was dressed in a flannel shirt and jeans instead of a frock, and her dog looked intently at the six sheep in front of him with an expression that said, You will not get lost. I will eat you if you try to get lost.

The sheep had an expression that said, We will do whatever you tell us to do; just don’t eat us.

Get in that pen, said the dog. No, not that way, stupid sheep, THIS way, said the dog. Eventually all the sheep got in the pen.

Another dog stood by the side watching with interest. Later, after the demonstration is over, the two dogs will converse. Did you see how stupid those sheep are? one dog will ask.

Yes, the other dog will answer. They are really stupid.

Sheep dogs never tire of this conversation.

Bo told the dog to chase the sheep out of the pen. The sheep left the pen faster than they had gone in.

Later the sheep will say to each other, Did you see that stupid dog? First he chases us into the pen. Then he chases us out of the pen. What do dogs want, anyway? one sheep will ask.

Nobody understands what dogs want, the other sheep will answer.

Sheep never tire of this conversation.

I asked Random Granddaughter, “Do you think Sylvie (the BEF’s little black—with a bit of white—cat) can herd sheep?”

Mommy (my daughter’s Out-if-Law partner) said, “I think sheep would be a bit much for Sylvie. However, she might be able to herd chipmunks. Perhaps we will bring some chipmunks back to the city with us for Sylvie to herd.”

It was windy and raining. RG said, “I want to go to the pumpkin farm.”

Pumpkins seldom get lost, and generally don’t need to be herded by dogs. However, little girls like to get pumpkins around Halloween time, so we got back in our cars and headed for the pumpkin farm to round up some pumpkins.

 

8 Responses to “Bo Has Not Lost Her Sheep”

  1. renaissanceguy Says:

    Great story. You seem like a great grandpa.

  2. modestypress Says:

    Thank you. My daughter is a great daughter; making it easier for me to look like a decent father. RG makes it easier for me to look good as a grandpa.

    It’s like the manager of a baseball team loaded with talent looks like a good manager.

  3. janie Says:

    I suspect there’s more to it than that, Random. Children who have been parented badly generally don’t feel inclined to make it easy for their parent(s) to “look good”. This is especially true when the child has not felt loved by his/her parent(s) and/or grandparent(s). Therefore, I suspect that RD, OLP, and RG feel loved by you and Mrs. Random, and that this has pretty much always been the case for RD. I admit I’m just guessing, though.

  4. modestypress Says:

    janie,

    Thank you. Both my wife and I came from rather dysfunctional families. We did not plan on or expect a child. When one came along we made it up as we went along. We did believe it was a serious responsibility, and took it as such. We were also brave or crazy enough to some things in unconventional ways.

    We like to think that we did a good job. I am appreciative that my family seems to like being with us. At the same time, I don’t feel love should be taken for granted or expected as an obligation; I think it has to be earned and cherished every day.


  5. I particularly enjoyed the fact that the sheep and dogs’ respective community conversations could easily have been those of human males and females.


  6. You have such a unique outlook. Reading your blog entries is much like looking at a surreal painting. I may not be entirely sure what I’m reading, but I know it amuses me.

    And yes, the sheep and dogs have very familiar thoughts. I’ve often have the “What do they want conversation?” with my female friends.

  7. modestypress Says:

    waxing strange,

    That is a wonderful thing to say to me. When I was young, I dreamed of writing like a surreal painting. You’ve made my day. 🙂

  8. modestypress Says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I did that because I could.

    😦

    Be careful of doing what you can do.


Leave a Reply

