RD Considers Her Options

October 21, 2007

For those of my readers who like my “cute, fuzzy bunny” literary persona, I warn you now that I am switching into a tragicomedy phase, which you may not like as much. These somewhat sad events do not involve the Barely Extended Family.

In fact, as far as I know, Random Granddaughter and her mommies are fine at the moment. In fact, my daughter has just begun taking her sabbatical from her job. This is supposed to refresh and reinvigorate her so she can return to her job with renewed enthusiasm and drive, but she is using her sabbatical to study her calculus so she can get back into graduate school, this time to study medical statistics instead of nut horticulture (what she studied before until she became disillusioned with the study of nuts).

As she told us on the BEF’s recent visit, as RG played with her train (though before she began playing with the train, she insisted on pulling out the wholesome wooden blocks and building a train station because no decent train will go out in public without a train station, as any sensible preschooler knows) RD has been considering her options and evaluating alternatives.

Despite all her assiduous calculus study, Random Daughter, being a practical and realistic person, realizes she may not get into the graduate school to which she is applying.

One alternative is to try and go to another graduate school by Distance Learning.

Another alternative is to stay at her current job. I was surprised to here RD say this, as my impression was that she hated her job, or at least disliked it quite a bit. But, as the saying goes, the plot has thickened.

The top management of her employer has figured out or learned that she is thinking of going to graduate school and leaving their employ. As is sometimes the case, and slightly contradictory to expectation, this has slightly increased her value in their estimation.

Although she does not like the middle management of her employer, the top management seems to have become slightly more enlightened, and instead of regarding her as a person who does fairly technical but still rather tedious and menial work and is not good for much else, are starting to regard her as a person of some talent and potential, and as a person they might want to “bring along” into “higher things” (as in work involving more responsibility, creativity, and initiative).

I was in a bit of a state of shock and surprise as she told me this. I said, “Your employer exists for the purpose of making money. I thought you would like to do something a little more idealistic, something that contributes more to society than merely amassing wealth.”

My daughter agreed that this is so. However, she realizes that she has to be realistic. If, in the meantime, her employer decides to treat her a little better than they have in the past, and perhaps give her some more interesting assignments than they have in the past, and I presume perhaps a little more money, and that is the best option available to her, she will probably go with the flow for the meantime.

7 Responses to “RD Considers Her Options”


  1. 1) RD sounds very pragmatic.

    2) I won’t make a remark about being your daughter, and the study of nuts.

  2. modestypress Says:

    1) Not a chip off the old blockhead.

    2) It’s a remark I make often.

  3. teaspoon Says:

    Dear Mr. Random,
    I just noticed that I am listed in your blogroll as ‘tablespoon.’ I’m not sure whether I should be offended. Clearly you have not looked at the beautiful, slender picture of a teaspoon on my new avatar.

  4. modestypress Says:

    Dear Rhiannon,

    You have every right to be offended. I make many stupid mistakes when I should be more careful and attentive. Also RG frequently tells me, “Grandpa, don’t touch slugs,” and then I do it again.


  5. That is so funny — I assumed that you had “upgraded” our dear teaspoon because clearly something so small could not contain the vastness of her extraordinary self.

    And here I find it was just an error. Oh,well.

  6. modestypress Says:

    When you find discrepancies in the Bible, they reflect great profundities. When you find discrepancies in my writing, you can pretty safely assume they represent stupid mistakes.

  7. teaspoon Says:

    David, I’m very flatted by the assumption you made about my upgrade to a tablespoon. Now I’m glad that Mr. Random hasn’t fixed it.


Leave a Reply

