6D Phantoms of the Opera

October 31, 2007

Henriette wanted to become an opera singer and sing for the Metropolitan Opera Company in New York City. I don’t know the whole story, mostly because as a child I was not paying attention. I was not paying attention because I was a whiny, self-obsessed, self-pitying child who detested my grandparents and parents. I’m not sure how much to criticize this child.

I tried to grow up a bit as I got older; I now consider myself in terms of emotional maturity to have reached the age of 13, although I have reached the chronological age of 63. Early next year, I will reach the chronological age of 64. I don’t know if I will reach the emotional maturity age of 14, but I am not optimistic. I suspect I am advancing one year per decade. By the time I reach 73, it may be too late to grow up emotionally.

Anyway, Henriette met a man named Morton who told her he knew and loved opera and could coach her in opera so well she could become a successful opera singer. They married and moved to New York City, so they could be close to the Met.

Apparently, being her opera coach was so strenuous that Morton did not have enough energy left to hold a conventional job that paid money. Henriette was so grateful for his coaching that she worked as a waitress to support him so he could coach her.

Apparently, the rest of my family did not like Morton very much. Not only was he a “kept man,” I remember dark remarks about his being anti-Semitic (even though he had married a Jew).I would guess that I could sum up the general family opinion as: pompous twit.

When I was in high school, my father’s job at the time working for a defense contractor took us to various part of the country. I attended six high schools in three states.

The last high school was in Rockland County, New York, a suburb of New York City. At about the age of 15 or so, I once went into New York City and spent a couple of days with Henriette and Morton. During my visit with them, I had a traumatic experience which left me scarred for life. I will describe this childhood trauma and abuse (and relate how I eventually overcame it) in my next message.

 

6 Responses to “6D Phantoms of the Opera”

  1. teaspoon Says:

    Advancing one year per decade doesn’t sound too bad. It’s probably better progress than a lot of people make.

  2. renaissanceguy Says:

    Wow! I sense a breakthrough is on the horizon.

    Peace.

  3. modestypress Says:

    At the moment, it is a tight race between breakthrough and breakdown.

  4. renaissanceguy Says:

    I understand. Keep us posted.


  5. Hanging on your every word,here.

  6. janie Says:

    I love opera, so I hope your trauma doesn’t have anything to do with that!

    No, seriously, Random, I can hardly wait to hear the rest of this story–sounds like it is going to be profound.


Leave a Reply

