Visit

November 19, 2007

We had a good visit, but Random Granddaughter is going through adolescence or something. When it was time for bed, she couldn’t get into it. Eventually, to get her calmed down, Mommy began singing to her.

It was going pretty well, until she suddenly burst into the middle of a song to ask, “What are shepherds? And why were they watching?”

I was surprised to see Sylvie in the bed. But Mommies told us, Sylvie sometimes sleeps with RG. RG wanted Sylvie to stay and sleep with her last night, but RG started petting Sylvie and playing with her a little too enthusiastically, so Sylvie (as any normal cat would) got up and left the bed.

A little later, RG said, “I don’t want to sleep. I want to get up and walk around all over the house all night just like Sylvie does.”

Eventually, she did fall asleep.

6 Responses to “Visit”


  1. Songs about shepherds? My goodness.

    What I want to know is this: what were they watching?

  2. janie Says:

    Random, my gosh. Is RG learning the Christmas story?

  3. Cameron Says:

    Sometimes I wish I could roam around the house all night just like our version of Sylvie does….


  4. Clearly that cat is a bad influence.

  5. Average Jane Says:

    Ah,memories. When I sang to my daughter in bed, she would promptly clap a hand over my mouth in protest.

  6. weekenderman Says:

    Wow, out of the mouths of babes. I’m so glad Grandpa Random was listening . . 🙂


Leave a Reply

