Tinkle, tinkle

November 21, 2007

 

After Random Granddaughter finally fell asleep on Saturday night, after saying she would rather wander the house all night like Sylvie (the little black with a little white cat), my wife and I got ready for bed. My daughter and her partner were upstairs in their bedroom. My wife was in the downstairs guest bedroom. I was in the downstairs bathroom brushing my teeth.

We heard a little bell jingling. One of Sylvie’s cat toys is a small plastic ball, like a whiffle ball, with a bell inside. Sylvie, perhaps taking a lead from RG’s rebellious comments, had come downstairs to play with her toy and was batting it around on the hardwood floor. Tinkle, tinkle went the little ball.

Ever solicitous of her guests, my daughter came downstairs and spoke to her mother. “Is Sylvie bothering you with her toy? I can take it away from her if she is bothering you,” she said.

“No,” I heard my wife answer. “I like hearing the sound of Sylvie playing with her toy.”

A few minutes later I joined my wife in the guest bed. For a few minutes we heard the little ball with a bell inside rolling and tinkling, and then it stopped. Cats don’t have a long attention span with toy prey, though they will watch for a real mouse or bird for a long time. After a little while, we fell asleep.

5 Responses to “Tinkle, tinkle”


  1. It’s so cute that RG wanted to wander the house like the cat. I used to watch my cat nap in the sun, and think I would far rather prefer to grow up to be a cat than an adult human.

  2. mommy Says:

    We love cats and have two very cool Siamese. In the middle of the night a few weeks ago, one carried a little can of Fancy Feast up into our bed and dropped it on my husband’s face.

  3. missholley Says:

    I used to have a beautiful Husky. When we first got him, I bought him a squeaky toy. It was hilarious to watch him with it. You could tell that he had never had one before and didn’t know what the heck it was. He would bite it and when it squeaked, he would quickly drop it and scrunch down and stare at it. You could tell that he didn’t know if it was dead or alive and he would wait for it to move. Then he would pick it up and the minute it squeaked, he would drop it again. It was so funny to watch.


  4. I can’t think of anything I find more delightful than waking up to the sound of one of my girls playing with a jingly toy in the middle of the night. It never goes on for very long, but it’s usually accompanied by some burbling and happy talking. Sometimes, if it’s little Liu doing the playing, she will bring the toy onto the bed and drop it into my hand, to see if I’m in the mood to play with her. How could I not be?


  5. BTW, Mommy’s comment struck me as absolutely hilarious. That’s one intelligent cat,IMO.


Leave a Reply

