Genes in Tight Jeans

February 7, 2008

Part of the reason I have been posting morbid posts is that I have been reading a morbid book. I will write about it one of these days so I can morb you as well.

In regard to sociobiology, if we are attractive, our genes wear us like tight jeans so they can attract other genes and reproduce themselves. If we are not very attractive, then at least we should be well-heeled. This may account for the large number of heels in your neighborhood.

In terms of turning out Nazis or Communists or other sociopaths, most people steered in such a direction will turn out as programmed and perform in a satisfactory manner as concentration camp guards or similar functionaries, but the occasional Aleksandr Isayevich Solzhenitsyn or Dietrich Bonhoeffer deviates from the program.

How to account for these variations? Perhaps one group represents “pod people” and the other groups represent “real people”?

Christians may argue that both Solzhenitsyn and Bonhoeffer were Christians and cast doubts on there being any atheist heroes.

What about George Orwell and Albert Camus? Can they reasonably be described as atheist heroes?

How absurd can you get?

 


 




 

6 Responses to “Genes in Tight Jeans”

  1. Moongirl Says:

    Dang, I’ve “come back” at the wrong time. I’m as absurd as the next, but not in your context. Crud, I don’t have time to think, let alone ponder…. I have two teenagers who are extremely handsome (hmmm black Nazis… that cracks me up) and extremely active and requiring tons of support at this point. I’ve either been reduced or elevated (depending on your perspective) to the position of Roadie and life is good at this moment. I’ll worry about Christians and Atheists later…. Feel the love, jen

  2. Moongirl Says:

    P.S. I really appreciate the large print…. how can I provide such a wonderful thing?

  3. modestypress Says:

    When I was in grade school, my best friend was named Danny Ikenberg. His parents were German Jews. They were alert to what was happening in Germany, and fled Germany to America while the getting was good.

    His mother told me once that many Jews in Germany admired Hitler, and thought that he would have been fine except for his little hangup about Jews. There was an article recently in The New Republic about a talented German Jewish writer who wrote fiction full of negative stereotypes about Jews and positive stereotypes about Germans.

    Despite her “sucking up” to Germans, when the really bad times came, she was sent to a concentration camp (despite all her German friends) and died there.

    I don’t know if there are intelligent space-traveling aliens, but if there are, probably our planet is surrounded by Quarantined!–Stay Away! signs.

    As far as the larger type, you have to go into the “Code” view of your text input window and insert a little HTML code. I have to do some stuff at the moment, but when I get a moment, I will try to provide a little more detail. Please pester me if I don’t do it in a couple of days.

  4. Moongirl Says:

    Polite, permission to pester… oh how I love thee. I’ll be back, for sure

  5. pandemonic Says:

    I read the “Inextinguishable Symphony” which depicts the entire Nazi/Jewish relationship through the eyes of one family of Jewish musicians. The Jews at first didn’t believe that the Nazis would become popular. The really believed that reasonable people would find them unreasonable. The family in the book decided to work with the Nazis in providing a Jewish symphony, so that they could be spared. However, the Nazis were just using them to show the rest of the world that they were kind to the Jews. It all ended horribly. The book was compelling reading. I couldn’t put it down until I finished it.


  6. OK. Here’s something a little on the absurd side:

    1) Go to youtube.
    2) Search for ‘lemon demon’
    3) Look for “word dissociation”

    Youngsters and their weird music. Hah!


Leave a Reply

