Think About It But Don’t Actually Do It

March 21, 2008

“It’s OK as a thought experiment, but I would rather that you not actually do it.”

Random Daughter is very tactful with her dad, but she was telling me that she doesn’t want me to do the green eggs and ham experiment when the Barely Extended Family comes to visit us in a week’s time.

My wife didn’t get the green eggs and ham experiment, either. I’m not going to try to make Random Granddaughter eat green eggs and ham. She can eat anything she wants (within Mommy guidelines) when she comes to visit. I was going to eat green eggs and ham in front of her, thereby proving that her grandfather is not only silly (as she describes me) but crazy as well.

Actually, that was not the only experiment I had in mind, though my daughter rejected experiment #2 as well.

Our weird family is very conventional when it comes to insisting that RG say “Please” and “Thank you,” to other people. “What do you say?” is often heard at the dinner table, just like in normal families.

Grandma mutters (when the rest of the family is gone), “She knows perfectly well what to say. Our daughter learned at an early age how easy it is to get adults to do what you want them to do if you’re just polite to them. Why is it so difficult for RG?”

RG is starting to read and write. She can recognize a few words. I bet she can recognize “Please” and “Thank you.” I was going to make giant flash cards that say Please and Thank You and hold them up for her at the dinner table behind the backs of the other adults.

Oh, well.

9 Responses to “Think About It But Don’t Actually Do It”

  1. Average Jane Says:

    I don’t see anything at all wrong with this idea of holding up flash cards. Sounds quite sane to me. You are not still going with the “we are all crazy, except you” thing, are you?

  2. Vicky Says:

    Sorry about the green food thing Random. Sometimes, some people just lose their sense of fun. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think RG would have loved it.

    I was chuckling at the thought of your wife’s muttering. Obviously, your daughter had a different temperament make up than RG does.

    It’s all fun, interesting and challenging!
    Enjoy!

  3. Cameron Says:

    You probably could have gotten away with the flash cards if you hadn’t asked first. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So much for adults doing what you want if you’re polite!

  4. modestypress Says:

    Thank you for all the interesting comments. My answers will take some care and thought to prepare properly, so I will be back with reply comments when I get a chance.


  5. It’s possible that your daughter was more naturally manipulative, as a child, than RG is. Because really, manners and societal conforming are an accepted form of interpersonal manipulation. RG strikes me as someone who lives life on her own terms, and be damned to you if you can’t deal with her. She may make an excellent inventor, but not, perhaps, a diplomat.


  6. Well, I must say it was very thoughtful of you to ask your daughter before trying either of the experiments. They both sound like fun to me.

  7. cheles Says:

    Ditto. I go with what David said :)……

  8. Average Jane Says:

    What David says is true for most three year olds, they are hardly diplomats and pretty much live life on their own sweet terms. It is only later that they are forced to knuckle down or learn to manipulate. I wonder which road RG will take.

  9. Moongirl Says:

    I guess I’m on the moon here. We had green eggs and ham when little guest came to visit. It was fun and special… sheesh. And, I also thought that learning to be courteous was prepatory to how we would treat our elders and care for people. Guess I was the one who was manipulated. However, when I am in certain environments like large cities, I notice how ill-mannered young people can be towards the very elderly… it’s a shame IMHO. Please try to be sincere, Thank You. FTL, jen


Leave a Reply

