Watching Manners

May 9, 2008


I had an interesting day taking care of Random Granddaughter. I will write more about it later, but for now a exchange from this morning.

RG was having a “trouble with good manners” morning. Mommy asked her three times to fetch some spoons for everybody at the breakfast table so everyone could eat their cereal. RG ignored her, though eventually enough gentle pressure was exerted that she fetched spoons. Each person received two spoons. I admired RG’s very subtle dig.

“How are the manners at pre-school?” I asked.

RG said, “Pretty good…but the boys don’t have very good manners,” she said.

I started laughing so hard, RG looked alarmed.

Mommy said, reassuringly, “Granddpa is not laughing at you. He just thought you were pointing out something that is true at other places.”

If I can get there in time, I may go watch RG at her swimming lesson tonight.

10 Responses to “Watching Manners”

  1. Pete Says:

    Very funny. And a sharp and precise sense of sarca…I mean humor! Who might she have inherited that from, Random?…Random? Hello? She’ll make you proud!

  2. modestypress Says:

    How could she inherit from me when their is no genetic connection. Do you think it is catching?

    After I picked her up from her pre-school, I said, “Do you want me to be ‘silly’ or serious? [‘Silly’ seems to make more sense to her than ‘crazy’ or ‘sarcastic’.]

    “Silly,” she said.

    I said, “Here are the rules. As long as you don’t do anything dangerous or that causes trouble, I will let you be in charge. If you cause trouble, I will turn into a mommy and be bossy.”

    She was pretty good most of the day. I’ll tell about when she wasn’t, later.

  3. pandemonic Says:

    RG sounds like such a hoot. I love your stories about her, she’s just so precious.

  4. Average Jane Says:

    I wonder what RG thinks of Grandpa’s manners.


  5. I’ve pulled the two-spoon sarcasm trick myself, but not with spoons.

  6. Pete Says:

    Good point on the “No genetic relation” Random. Lets call it sarcasm by association!

  7. modestypress Says:

    Jane,

    I asked RG about Grandpa’s manners. The first time I asked she maintained a discreet silence. The second time I asked she bobbed her head to indicate, “Yes.”

    That was very polite of her.

    Pete,

    I think RG has some natural talent in the direction of sarcasm. It’s just a coincidence she was born into this family.

  8. truce Says:

    ‘ “Pretty good…but the boys don’t have very good manners,” ‘

    RG is uncannily prescient, I prophesy a glorious future for her in politics if she can cut to the chase like this at her age.

  9. modestypress Says:

    truce,

    The following is true. (I am not good at writing fiction and except for the occasional clumsy satire, seldom attempt it.) When RG was little more than two years old, I saw her mommy introduce her to a little boy she had never met before.

    Without saying a word, RG slapped him hard on the face. Probably she sensed some need for the slap maybe 18 years in the future.

    This is why I am not encouraging RG to go into politics. Although her mommies often explain to her that invading other countries for preemptive reasons is wrong, she is a very strong-willed little girl. I doubt that placing a military in her hands would be a good idea.

  10. Cameron Says:

    How could she inherit from me when their is no genetic connection. Do you think it is catching?

    I think nurture plays a large part in our personalities!


Leave a Reply

