RG’s Dramas & My Commotions

June 9, 2008

I have a lot of commotions in my life right now and not much time to write about them.

We went to visit the Barely Extended Family this weekend. As usual, Random Granddaughter offered interesting comments and provided quite a bit of drama for our otherwise humdrum lives.

However, we received a considerable surprise in regard to RG. Not an event, or a crisis, but a very surprising insight from Mommy about her personality. Although my wife and I were surprised by Mommy’s comments, once we thought about this insight and talked about it, her conclusion makes a lot of sense to us. As usual, it shows that RG has inherited many characteristics from Grandma and Grandpa Random, an interesting phenomenon as there is no genetic connection.

I will write more about the insight and the weekend in general when I get a chance.

The other big commotion in my life is that I have a job interview scheduled for Tuesday night. When I took my present job, I envisioned it lasting for me until I reached the age of 65 and then retired. My 65th birthday comes in January 2009. However, after 10 years of reasonable compatibility with my employer, the last year has created a very sour experience for me. I’ve talked more about my frustrations in my secret blog; I won’t expand on my grumbling here.

When I saw a interesting job advertised on the island where I live, I applied for it. Some of my previous work experience fits pretty well to the job description; other parts of the job description raise all sorts of questions and doubts in my mind.

In any case, I completed and submitted an application. On Friday, as I was taking a vacation day and shooting at (and after a few misses, hitting) hitting varmints who endanger our garden and offend my wife’s standards of who should live in our neighborhood, I received a phone call asking me to come in for an interview. More on my bloodthirsty activities and uncertain marksmanship also when I get more time.

The interview is scheduled for tomorrow night (Tuesday). I will give it my best shot (though I don’t plan to bring my pellet gun with me to the interview). When I know more, I will let my faithful blog readers know more.

11 Responses to “RG’s Dramas & My Commotions”


  1. Good luck on the interview! This post was rather a preview of coming attractions, yes?

  2. modestypress Says:

    Yes. I hope so. At my age, every plan is a maybe.

  3. truce Says:

    Good luck.

    *bated breath over here, don’t be too long with the next installment*

  4. mmacmurray Says:

    Hope the interview goes well! Are you coming back to WMB when your sabbatical is over?

  5. jennyspeaks Says:

    bring the pellet gun, man!!

  6. spectrum2 Says:

    Oh, what the hell . . . I’ll start back. You don’t have to beg.

  7. modestypress Says:

    See. Begging works.

  8. pandemonic Says:

    Hey, if you can get a job at your age, there is hope for my husband. Not that he doesn’t have a job, he does, but he’s afraid if we have to start again, which considering where we live, we might have to. Me? I KNOW I can get a job, anywhere, anytime.

    So yes… Good luck.


  9. […] June 22, 2008 mmacmurray wrote on June 10: […]


Leave a Reply

