Replies to All the Supportive Comments

June 18, 2008

Thank you for all supportive comments in regard to the rejection of my job application.

All my life, I’ve never had a job for which I was well-suited. I’m fairly-well suited (well, I don’t dress that well, but that’s another story) for my present work, but I haven’t developed my career well. What little of a career I have is dissolving beneath my feet. I have learned there is almost no way to make a living helping computer-confused people to comprehend computers. Let them suffer in confusion and bewilderment! I now say.

If I had been able to retire a year ago, I would have parted ways from my employer on somewhat amicable terms, but now the divorce is getting bitter and nasty.

If one wants to make a living in computer training, the path to take is to become hideously expert in some obscure geeknerd specialty such as breaking into networks, hacking databases, or writing destructive viruses and worms. From that self-training, one proceeds into extorting protection money from governments and large multi-national corporations. Unfortunately, I am not smart enough to pull off such a life of blackmail and crime.

My wife and I ran our own typesetting business for five years. Our intent in starting a business was not so much to make a lot of money (though we would not have minded), but to be our own bosses and escape the tyranny of working for idiots.

Although we produced good work, we knew nothing about what running a business really involved and missed the point that making money is the ultimate point of running a business, and put ourselves deeply in debt, almost ruined our marriage, appalled our child, and damaged our lives for years. Also, if you run your own business, customers are the nastiest bosses imaginable and one’s self is the biggest and most tyrannical idiot imaginable.

Based on those excellent qualifications and superb training, we feel well-prepared to try again. About the time I retire, I am going to start a small, part-time computer-related business, in between shooting bunnies and squirrels.

My wife is entrepreneuring a little also. She’s been volunteering at the snack stand at the local organic farmer’s market. First, she served coffee and tea and lemonade and handed out the lunches. The drink money goes to the market, and they have a good cook who pays the market a cut and keeps the rest of what he makes from cooking lunches. They have no baked goods, so this year my wife started serving biscotti and scones at the food stand. She came home last Saturday, announced she had sold all the baked goods she had brought, did a few calculations, and then announced, “I didn’t make any money.” I haven’t started yet, but I am sure I can do as well as my wife in terms of my business plan.

If one can’t ruin one’s life on the first try, try, try again is what we always say. As I tell my students, practice, practice, practice.

7 Responses to “Replies to All the Supportive Comments”

  1. Pauline Says:

    People have tried to convince me to try to do my own computer business, but I learned enough about running a business in my MBA program to know I don’t want to do it on my own. I’m good at lots of things but not sales, and being in business for yourself is all about sales, whatever else it is.

    Of course, getting any job means doing a decent sales job selling yourself. I’ve been surprised that I’ve managed to get the jobs I have. Still no word on the interview I had three weeks ago…


  2. I still can’t tell whether, for me, being self-employed is the best or worst of all possible worlds. Of course, for me, the very concept of being my own boss is rather more complicated, or perhaps less so, than it is for most people.

    I think you could compress your motto to: “If at first you don’t succeed at failing, try again.”

  3. truce Says:

    I was a self-employed artist for over a year at the beginning of this century. I had 2 exhibitions and sold several paintings, I even taught art classes, too, for a while, but I still failed entirely to make a profit decent enough to live on largely because my boss was idle and crap at sales.

  4. truce Says:

    David – can you explain that rather cryptic utterance please? 🙂

  5. spectrum2 Says:

    Here is how my hubby makes money off of computers: He goes to college, engineering school, majors in computer science, takes a job for a large international corporation (Fortune 500), becomes salaried, then writes programs (in his early days there as a programmer-now I’m not sure what he does but it has something to do with MFG Pro-which he thinks is holding him back because it is old and outdated in his computerdom opinion–Then, when he was a scamp of a programmer, he wrote programs that made the company millions of dollars, and they paid him his salary (which, trust me, was not an equivalent).
    As for me, I work for the state, so you know I’m underpaid and under appreciated.

  6. pandemonic Says:

    Damn, RN. I wish to escape the tyranny of having idiots work for us. The irony of our situations is not lost on me.

  7. modestypress Says:

    Honesty compels me to whisper that I am often an idiot. Not in RG’s vocabulary yet, but she is beginning to read, and will come across it, and say, “Does that word, idd..ot, mean Grandpa?”


Leave a Reply

