Sabattical from World on the Web blog

June 22, 2008


mmacmurray wrote on June 10:

Are you coming back to WMB when your sabbatical is over?

The reference is to worldmagblog, aka World on the Web, a magazine and web site for evangelical Christians. Although I am not a religious believer, I have participated on this web site for several years. A number of the people who read my blog and post here from time to time are Christians I met at World on the Web. I appreciate their kind, cheerful and tolerant participation, even though our belief systems differ.

Finding myself feeling cranky and testy about my participation at World, I took a six month break. Several people claimed I could not do it. At the beginning of July, my “sabbatical” will be over, so I at least demonstrated a tiny bit of will power.

I have not made up my mind whether I will return and particapate again.

macmurray, thank you for your inquiry. What is your advice for me in this regard?

5 Responses to “Sabattical from World on the Web blog”

  1. Vicky Says:

    I’m not MacMurray, Random, but I say if you’re interested at all in going back, then do so. You’re more than welcome. If you’re really not inclined so much anymore, that’s fine too. We still know where to find you. πŸ™‚

  2. mmacmurray Says:

    What Vicky said, RN. πŸ™‚ I’d enjoy seeing you back at WMB, but I also visit here pretty regularly to find out what RG is up to and see how the bunnies are faring.

  3. Cameron Says:

    Ditto.

  4. mommy Says:

    Please do come back. My first choice would be that in so doing, you’d limit yourself to posting about the thread’s topic or bring up others that you know folks would be interested in. IOW, leave your personal stories and fiction here on your own blog. But, what the hey, we love you and want you back, so we’ll take what we can get.

  5. modestypress Says:

    Thanks to all for the courteous and sensible replies.

    mommy, I do evolve a bit, though very slowly, so if I do come back to World on the Web, I will probably self-edit a little more than I did in the past.

    All who commented, nevertheless, I’m not sure that there is much evolution on the part of many others participating at WOW. Parody has not been my typical satirical writing style, but it is hard to resist the temptation at WOW. Most people write the same basic post over and over on that web site. I suspect that if you gave me a hundred posts with no screen names attached, in the majority of cases I could tell you who wrote each post.

    One of the main intentions for many conservative Christians (a general appelation I use for evangelicals, fundamentalists, religious right, etc.) is to convert non-believers to Christianity. When I was young, fervent proseletyzing irritated and offended me. I’m now more lackadaisacal on the topic, though probably no more likely to become a religious believer.

    The majority of participants at WOW are conservative Christians. There is a substantial minority of atheists and homosexuals, most of whom seem to have been raised in conservative Christian families and bear lasting grudges and resentments. Engaging in flame wars and trading insults seems to be the main reason for many people to participate at WOW.

    My wife and I saw a remarkably good community theater performance of Neil Simon’s The Good Doctor (based on stories by Chekhov) a couple of weeks ago. One of the cute skits portrayed two retired Russian military officers (one naval, one army) who meet each week on a park bench who engage in furious arguments on every topic under the sun, just for the delight of a real time flame war.

    As I was never raised as a religious believer (and decided I was an atheist before the age of 10), I don’t really feel like I have grudges to pay off. My wife, like me, a non-believer has almost no interest in religion. However, religion and religious belief fascinate me. Like a coquette who has no interest in consummation (another good sketch in the play we saw dealt with this theme as well), and thereby gains the irritated label of “—-tease” by most of the men who know her), my skepticism excites would-be converters.

    People do change belief systems as adults, but I’ve never seen it happen in an online discussion. Yet people post to each other over and over and over as if they think they will persuade others to believe as they do. I do not know (in Skinnerian operant conditioning terms) what reinforcer maintains this behavior.


Leave a Reply

