Like Shooting a Squirrel in a Window

June 25, 2008

When I was young, I would go to a barber to get my hair cut. Now that I am old, I still have hair because the men in my family die with a lot of hair still on their head. Now that I am old, I get my hair cut by a hairdresser. It’s odd how these fashions change.My hairdresser’s husband and her son (in junior high) go deer hunting every fall. She belongs to a hunting family.

I was telling her about my rabbit and squirrel hunting adventures. I was hoping that as she is a person from a real hunting family she wouldn’t start laughing too hard while she had scissors near my head. She did laugh very hard, but not for the reason I expected.

She said, “Those squirrels are real pests. My son was over visiting my father-in-law and a squirrel started teasing my son from a tree. They both got really mad, but they didn’t have any weapons handy. My father-in-law said, “I have to get that damn squirrel! It’s a pest!”

From her tone of voice, I got the impression that there are “issues” as the saying goes in regard to her father-in-law. This impression grew as she continued her tale.

“About a week later, I was over visiting my father-in-law and noticed one of their windows all boarded up. I asked my mother-in-law, “What happened to the window?

“She said, ‘That damn fool!’ referring to her husband.

“Apparently he had seen the squirrel out the window, rushed to get his gun, aimed, and fired. Only he hadn’t bothered to open the window first, so he shot out the window.”

My hairdresser laughed very hard. However, she pulled the scissors away from my head as she started to guffaw.

I’m pretty dumb, but I haven’t done anything that dumb. At least, not since I started fooling around with a gun.

5 Responses to “Like Shooting a Squirrel in a Window”

  1. vroni1208 Says:

    Maybe you should keep your windows open…just in case. 🙂

  2. spectrum2 Says:

    Issues indeed.

  3. Pete Says:

    Damn fool indeed! Though it doesn’t say much for me…once I discharged a loaded hunting rifle in the house. The round went through 7 layers of walls and cabinets before exiting the house (Steel siding)skipped off the deck and went who knows where. Not one of my smoother moves, but the gun was defective.

  4. pandemonic Says:

    LOL… I wish I had his gun. I’d remember to open the window. I’m a girl. We would do that.

  5. modestypress Says:

    I was always going outside to the porch to shoot. It was my wife’s idea to shoot out the window, so she opens it first, and removes the screen. So far, as a team, we have not had any unfortunate accidents such as the one I described.


Leave a Reply

