Update

July 18, 2008

Email from youngest brother’s wife this morning.

“J. [youngest brother] has been found. He is in the hospital. He is as good as he gets. His heart tests were good. He is having mental problems.”

4 Responses to “Update”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    I’m glad he’s been found. I’m not so glad about the hospital. I guess I have ambivalent hospital feelings. There are a lot of germs in there.

  2. modestypress Says:

    My other brother once said, “I’d rather not die in a hospital. My wife is a nurse; I know what it like. I’d rather drop dead while jogging.”

    The brother who ran away had a heart attack once; hence the hospital checking and worrying about his health. We’ve always known that he is frail emotionally; I don’t know that he’s ever had any treatment.

    I’ve had mental health treatment, though never institutionalized. On the other hand, I’ve only stayed overnight in a hospital once (though for several days) for physical reasons. As they could never figure out the cause of the physical problems, perhaps it was really for being crazy.


  3. Probably because it’s comparatively early in the morning and I have an unfortunately black sense of humor, I found this deadpan communication from your sister-in-law to be quite funny. Especially the mildly exasperated “He is as good as he gets.”

  4. modestypress Says:

    Believe me, you have read it spot on.


Leave a Reply

