RG’s First Blog Post

July 19, 2008

“I had some errands in this area, so I am a few minutes from your house. If it’s not an inconvenience, I will stop by for a few minutes,” I told Mommy (Random Daughter’s out of law partner and birth mother of Random Granddaughter).

“Sure, stop by,” she said.

As I pulled up to the little house in the medium-sized city, I saw a little form quickly entering the house. I am not sure that Mommy had warned RG that Grandpa was coming, but as an introvert, she needs more time to prepare herself to deal with me.

Sure enough, when I entered the house, RG was clinging to Mommy and avoiding looking at me.

I petted Sylvie, the world’s most extroverted cat. Sylvie purred.

I greeted everyone and talked to the mommies for a bit, updating them about my job travails. Then I mentioned how much the Friendly Neighbors had enjoyed RG’s visit to their chickens and ducks. RG perked up a bit.

“Ducks eat slugs,” I said.

“Grandpa touches slugs,” said RG with disapproval. (Thinking RG was too prissy in regard to bugs and slugs, I had tried to toughen her up by touching slugs in front of her to set a bad example, but only grossed her out and provided fodder for future visits to a therapist.)

“You asked me not to touch slugs again, so I stopped,” I said. “However, ducks think slugs are yummy.” RG looked away, perhaps in disgust. (Note to RG;s future spouse: she may not appreciate you ordering roast duck when you go out with her on a date.)

“How is camp? Are you having a good time?” I asked. RG is in between pre-schools and going to day camp sessions at the private school where Mommy works.

RG began to tell me about camp. She kept turning her head away, mumbling, and hanging upside down from the back of the couch.

Mommy was kind but firm. “Look at Grandpa when you talk to him. Be polite,” she said to RG.

Finally, RG launched into a story, though it took her several tries and encouraging prompts from Mommy to get it straight. I got a little confused and I’m not sure I’ve got it straight myself.


She said, “We took a bus. We went to the Children’s Museum. Then we took the Monorail downtown. Then we took a bus and came home.”

At four years of age, Random Granddaughter can write her name and a few words such as “cat.” She knows the alphabet and can read a few words. She is not encouraged to use a computer and she can’t type yet. For right now, I have to be her Boswell.

Taking that into consideration, I think you have just read Random Granddaughter’s First Blog Post. I think it’s better than a few blog postings I’ve read from time to time on other blogs.

11 Responses to “RG’s First Blog Post”

  1. spectrum2 Says:

    Does RG not use pronouns? Does she often speak in this point-of-view? If so, I find it fascinating. My son sometimes refers to himself in the third person, but will speak using appropriate pronouns (with occasional misuse). This doesn’t matter a bit, just curious.

  2. modestypress Says:

    1) I don’t know how accurate my transcriptions are. 2)Her use of language does sometimes strike me as strange. She is still discovering the world from a very primal point of view. For example, I do clearly remember watching and listening to her as she looked at some snapshots of herself as an infant. I do clearly remember her sometimes saying, “She” and sometimes saying, “I.”

    I think when she is talking of a group activity (such as school trip or going somewhere with her mommies) she does say, “We.” When she is talking about making something or eating something, she will say, “I.”

  3. pandemonic Says:

    I think many kids that age relate stories in a similar way. I know mine did. They oftentimes see life from the outside in, as if viewing a movie. Come to think of it, that’s how I saw it as well, until I was around 6 or 7.

  4. modestypress Says:

    They oftentimes see life from the outside in, as if viewing a movie.

    The way I sometimes experience life. One more sign that I never grew up.

  5. truce Says:

    That’s an excellent first post by RG. Informative, accurate and succinct. bravo!


  6. Sounds like a travel-heavy itinerary at the preschool.

  7. modestypress Says:

    True, truce. She puts Grandpa to shame. However, that’s the job of the younger generation, to shove us aside.

    David, she’s just getting warmed up. In a few days she will be on an airplane heading for the east coast to see other grandparents. Then, she will be off to Colorado to meet some new grandparents. RG collects grandparents some like some children collect stickers.

    I am rushing this morning to woo our promiscuous granddaughter to keep us in her hearts as she cavorts with other grandparents. In a burst of cooperation by nature, some of our raspberries ripened. Last night Grandma picked. This morning I will deliver a basket to RG’s house. I don’t know if anyone will be home, but I have a key. I will leave them for her to discover tonight. I thought about leaving a note about how the raspberries were delivered by fairies, but his might confuse her; she might think they were delivered by her mommies.

  8. truce Says:

    “RG collects grandparents some like some children collect stickers.”

    There are worse things to collect. All my grandparents are gone, and I miss my Irish Grandmother, Sally, and my English Grandpa, Bill, very much.

  9. modestypress Says:

    RG knows where her Christmas tree and birthday cake are buttered.

  10. Shirley Says:

    Not sure, but I think I wish to have RG’s autograph.

  11. modestypress Says:

    Shirley, she writes her autograph in invisible ink. Look, it’s right over there >>>>>>>>


Leave a Reply

