Earth Muffins

July 24, 2008

At the last farmer’s market, Mrs. Random made a gross profit of $10.11, selling baked goods at the coffee stand where she volunteers.

Now that she is working up to the big time as far as revenue goes, I am urging her to prepare some marketing materials. As she is reluctant to engage in “hype,” as she puts it, I have assigned the task to myself. Today I suggested the following to my wife. She didn’t throw me out of the house, perhaps because I left voluntarily to head for work.

Chickadee’s Earth Muffin Baked Goods:

Psgotti, Skones, & Lighter than Lead Healthy Cookies

It ruins jokes to explain them, but I have no shame.

When my daughter was tiny, she liked spaghetti but always called it, “psghetti.” (She also called flowers, “fowfers.) I don’t know of any cute mispronunciations by RG.

My wife has become a zealot about healthful eating, but she decries “health food” cookies that feel and taste like bricks, and takes pride in making nutritious baked items that are also light and tasty.

She is also a perfectionist. When she baked some scones that had the slightest bit of excessive browning on the bottom (from being in the oven a few minutes too long), she refused to take them to the market.

Is this how Mrs. Fields got started? As long as my wife doesn’t collect any personal information from RG over the web, we’re probably OK. At least as long as RG is not allowed to use the computer.



4 Responses to “Earth Muffins”

  1. abarclay12 Says:

    I’m not sure how Fields got started, but I was watching the Food Network and I learned that Paula Dean started her business by selling boxed lunches to local people, so maybe your wife is on the way. I will test the food.

  2. pandemonic Says:

    Mrs. Random sounds a lot like me.

  3. modestypress Says:

    Mrs. Random also sounds a lot like David, as well. It’s all very confusing to me.

  4. David Says:

    I completely support the business concept. I would definitely buy a lighter-than-lead healthy cookie.


Leave a Reply

