Three Grains of Sand

July 28, 2008

When I taught high school, for a while I participated in a half-day alternative school called “Alternative Futures.” Our goal was to prepare young people for a rapidly evolving future.

When I was young, I read a lot of science fiction. As someone with a small talent at writing (and not much else), I dreamed of being a science fiction writer. I made a few stabs; it was obvious to me that my talents do not lie in the direction of writing fiction.

As a young person, science fiction was mostly a form of escapism for me, though I did think about what it said. As an old person, the science fiction I read about when I was young is now coming true.

When I wrote an earlier scrap of blog science fiction, Spectrum wrote:

What about RG? What about her future? I don’t like this dream.

Like three grains of sand in an oyster, Spectrum’s three sentences stimulated me to write three—not pearls—three alternative futures for RG.

They will follow this week.

2 Responses to “Three Grains of Sand”

  1. David Says:

    The coming-trueness of science fiction disturbs me, too … which is why I try not to read the science fiction being written today, much of which involves human clones being treated like animals or, at best, slaves.

    On a completely unrelated note … a while back on my blog, you suggested that I might enjoy Eddie Izzard. I watched the Dress to Kill show last night, and you’re right, I loved it. I thought you might be amused to know that the friend who watched it with me remarked at one point: “My God, that guy reminds me of you … except that you’d look even worse than that in drag.”

  2. modestypress Says:

    So Eddie Izzard is you without the performance anxiety? I’m glad you enjoyed the show. It was interesting that Mrs. Random, Random Daughter, Mommy, and I, whose tastes in entertainment (especially especially humor), often do not coincide, all love Eddie Izzard.


Leave a Reply

