RG on the Road

August 12, 2008

I received a postcard today from my daughter. The Barely Extended Family is visiting other grandparents. The postcard is from Virginia, but shows part of the U.S. Capitol Building. It says in part:

Museums fabulous as always, mosquitoes & other bugs god-awful, heat not too bad.

Best bumper sticker so far: “I haven’t clawed my way up the evolutionary ladder to eat vegetables!”

First words out of house sitter’s mouth when we called to check in: “Sylvie is a bad cat!” (She hopped over the fence during her outside time.)

Random Granddaughter hiked 1.3 miles each way up to a waterfall in the Blue Ridge Mtns CHEERFULLY, and peed in a scary outhouse without a peep of complaint.

Mt. Vernon (George Washington’s home) [Mrs. Random bristled: “I went to school I know where George Washington lived.”] not nearly as good to visit as Monticello, but well worth a visit once.

National Zoo is wonderful, especially the Amazonia exhibit—if you thought sturgeons were old and weird-looking, you would be amazed by these fish.

6 Responses to “RG on the Road”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip. Maybe the daughter forgot that Mrs. Random knew about George’s house.

  2. Pauline Says:

    Maybe these days you don’t learn about Mt. Vernon in school, and someone who learned that from visiting the place (I have no idea if this is the case for RD) might not realize that people used to learn this in school. Personally I did know, both from school and from having a jigsaw puzzle showing various famous places like that. But it does seem like one of the less important things to learn in school, and it wouldn’t bother me particularly all if my sons learned some more important things about GW but not the name of his home.

    I’d love to be able to visit Wash. DC with my sons. But that’s too far away. We’ll settle for visiting the capital of Indiana this week. (Though we’re going there for GenCon – a big conference for people who like to play games – not to see any historic stuff)

  3. modestypress Says:

    Pan, it is probably true that RD forgot, but Mrs. Random is a little touchy at times about two people with college degrees in the household and not having one.

    On the other hand, I am saving this note for RG because some day she will probably tell her kids, “I remember when I had to walk ten miles uphill barefoot through the snow with mosquitoes sucking my blood and having to pee in the midst of giant spiders in a cave to get to preschool.”

  4. David Says:

    I have never contemplated the old weirdness of sturgeon, but now I’m thinking maybe I should.

  5. truce Says:

    I have several times contemplated the odd-looking ness of Sturgeon. And don’t even start me on Icefish and Gulper eels. Yikes.

    Wonderful postcard. Glad to hear they’re ALL having fun!

  6. modestypress Says:

    The Barely Extended Family will be back next weekend. We will leave them alone for a week (unless they call us) as they are probably sick of socializing and traveling and probably just wish to have some peace and quiet and petting of Sylvie while they tell her, “Bad Cat,” and she purrs happily.

    Then Mrs. Random and I will day sit RG for a week and she can look at us and think I put up with you as grandparents when the other grandparents spoil me so much better because…?

    And we will tell her, “Because we understand you are an introvert and leave you alone when you need peace and quiet and contemplation and processing…that’s why.”


Leave a Reply

