Prissy Duck Update

September 30, 2008

I finally remembered to ask the Friendly Neighbors at Mrs. Friendly Neighbor’s Surprise birthday party about the ducks who refused to go into their pool after a chicken fell into it.

“Yes, they finally started going back into the pool. It took a week, though.”

So now you can add to your never-ending collection of useful information you learn from reading my blog. If a chicken falls into your duck pond, it will take the ducks a week to recover from this traumatic experience.

Also, at the party, the Friendly Neighbors introduced us to some newcomers to our island. “They’re gardeners, also,” Mr. Friendly Neighbor told us.

We had a nice chat. They told us they had just moved here from Santa Barbara. As we moved from Los Angeles to Washington State in about 1968, and lived in the Pacific Northwest (back and forth between Portland and Puget Sound) since then, and lived on the island for three years, we now consider ourselves natives, so we welcomed the newcomers with friendly condescension.

Before we went to the surprise party, my wife asked me, “Do you want me to throw a surprise party for your 65th birthday?”

“Not if you want to live,” I answered in a friendly way.

6 Responses to “Prissy Duck Update”

  1. klasko Says:

    Random, I loved the duck story. I had a good chuckle over that one.

  2. modestypress Says:

    Klasko,

    I am so glad you dropped in to visit my blog. Most people agree the best parts are the Random Granddaughter tales.

  3. pandemonic Says:

    I’m with you. I don’t want a party either.


  4. I’m impressed that the ducks were fowl racists only for a week. We of the human race could learn something from that. We won’t, of course, but we could.

  5. modestypress Says:

    I am trying to see if I can get the ducks and chicken to appear on Oprah. Or to get Oprah to fall into the duck pond.


Leave a Reply

