Two Great Themes of my Life

October 20, 2008

Two of the great themes of my life are:

  • I hate bullies and bullying.
  • I love to play matchmaker.

My brother and I were bullied by our father. I tried very hard as a father not to be a bully toward my daughter. I am not in close contact with my brother and his children-he lives across the country from me-but I think he has made a similar effort for his three children.

My wife and I met by accident, and we are not particularly well-suited to each other, but so far we have made it work. “So far” will reach 43 years in November. Our motto is: We are too weird for anyone else to put up with, so we might as well stick together. After 42 years of marriage, we got brave enough to say, “I love you,” to each other.

When I was young, I read a science fiction story about psychic powers. I don’t remember the title (as usual), but I do remember the author’s name: Keith Laumer. (He was a talented but very tragic person, by the way.)

The protagonist develops a psychic power-he can detect people who need each other. Not necessarily romantic need-though sometimes that is the case. However, each party has some quality or characteristic the other needs. The protagonist puts them in touch with each other and something marvelous happens.

I thought it was one of the most wonderful stories I ever read.

I don’t know that I have ever matched people up successfully in a romantic relationship. However, at times I have brought people together who benefited from knowing each other in other fashions than romance.

My pledge drive for David Rochester may be my magnum opus for working on both of these themes. It’s too early to tell if I will have success on either in his case. While I am working on it, I will tell two stories, one on each theme. One where nothing happened from over twenty years ago. That nothing happened was probably good.

The other incident was quite recent. Only a little tiny thing happened, but it was good.

I will write these stories in the midst of incessant pledge drive badgering. I am eagerly waiting to hear about money coming into David’s mail box next week.

13 Responses to “Two Great Themes of my Life”

  1. vroni1208 Says:

    Wait, who is the money going to? David?

  2. truce Says:

    yep 😉

  3. modestypress Says:

    We want to encourage David to live so he will continue writing the agonized blog posts we all love. Remember, you are contributing not out of pity or generosity, but out of selfishness and self-interest.


  4. *bounces* stories! *brings pink mouse to Mr. Random* I need that back, it’s new.

  5. pandemonic Says:

    Our motto is: We are too weird for anyone else to put up with, so we might as well stick together.

    My motto too.


  6. If anyone would like to send a small bird rather than a dollar, I can think of someone here who would enjoy that, and whose enjoyment would, in and of itself, provide lots and lots of stories.


  7. And lots of cleaning, don’t forget that part. And possibly a vet trip. You’re just scared people will send enough money to qualify for the premium.


  8. I did indeed receive two pledges in my mail box today, one from you, and one from LFC, I think … from Texas, enclosed in a most apropos greeting card.

    This proved to me that:

    1) Mail from Texas is much faster than I would ever have guessed

    2) It is actually somewhat safe to send cash in the mail

    3) Now that I’m an adult, people seem as willing to be nice to me for no reason as they were to be mean for no reason when I was a kid. I think that hammering this home to me once and for all is actually your goal, and it’s possible that you might really get there.

  9. modestypress Says:

    Pound away, everybody. Pound the point home. As Jenny (not seen much of late) used to say, “Feel the Love.”


  10. May all your tribbles be little ones, David. 😉

  11. truce Says:

    I have a feeling that the tardiness of the post from Australia is going to more than make up for the speediness of the post from Texas.

    We’re not being nice to you for no reason, we’re being entirely selfish – we want you to continue to a) live and b) write because you bring a compassionate clarity of insight and an appreciation of life’s nonsense which I, for one, would rather not be without.

  12. modestypress Says:

    Truce,

    That is so true and so brilliant.

    Everyone who reads your comment should be immediately overcome with a irresistible urge to pull out a dollar and put it in an envelope and send it to David.

    David, on the other hand, should be overcome with an irrisistible urge to start courting truce.

    I don’t have time tonight, but tomorrow I will post a message about courting by phone. This actually worked for the Randoms.

    The other system would be to be college roomates of the same sex, which worked for my daughter and her partner. I don’t quite see it applying.

    As far as Random Granddaughter goes, I think she will seize some boy or girl (too early to tell yet) and drag himorher home by the hair caveperson style.


Leave a Reply

