Working on it.

October 23, 2008

I can’t talk about it here, but David paid one of his premiums early, which is excellent.

I am working on the story of how I met my wife, but other events compete for my attention at the moment, so I don’t have an estimated time of arrival. Also, I will be taking care of Random Granddaughter next week and having a colonoscopy next week, though not at the same time, though I am sure that RG would find it an educational field trip of great interest to attend.

14 Responses to “Working on it.”

  1. Gula Says:

    I have been working on how my relationships are going on. If somenody reads, maybe they will think “What a mess!”. But I’m interested to read about how people have met.

  2. Corina Says:

    I have to read your blog more often. You always spark memories/ideas!

  3. modestypress Says:

    Corina,

    That’s why pandemonic reads my blog and truce. I spark many ideas and memories for them. They then write brilliant posts that help keep David alive (along with everybody’s wonderful pledge contributions).

    Inch by joyful inch we are making the world a better place. One day we will all hear David say, “I am having fun!”

    We will all jump for joy and scream with glee.

    Then David will say, “Just kidding!”

    Then we will all jump for joy and scream with glee even more, and Debbie will win a Nobel peace prize for her brain surgery on David and we will share a bit of the prize for our assistance with working on David.

  4. modestypress Says:

    Gula,

    The post is no longer available (unless I have it saved on a flash drive) but I once wrote of giving my wife a gift of a can of lye.

    She was delighted.

    The reason: once or twice a year my wife makes homemade soap. The process requires lye. It’s hard to buy lye because meth labs use it. I searched far and wide and found a can for her.

    I am not very romantic, but sometimes I am clever and original.

    If you also read David Rochester’s wonderful blog, please consider making a contribution to our pledge drive for David.

    If you contribute, as a premium I will read your blog and make comments. As David often notes, nobody comments like I comment.

  5. vroni1208 Says:

    Oh no you didn’t! 😀 LOL!

  6. truce Says:

    Your comments, Mr Random, should be classified as Sites of Special Scientific Interest and guarded as National Treasures.

    As should your posts.

    Your gifts, however, I remain unconvinced by… a can of lye? 😉

  7. Random Name Says:

    Would I lie to you?

  8. modestypress Says:

    I have a very busy day tomorrow. As I am so embarrassed about how I met my wife, my first efforts to write it were dreadful. I will work on it this weekend. My wife will be out of town for the weekend to spend time with her best friend at a mid-way location. (Best friend lives in Portland, Oregon.)

    To keep me from poisoning myself with my terrible cooking, the friendly neighbors have invited me over for dinner on Saturday.

    Next week, I go in for my colonoscopy. My supervisor is so “macho” (or whatever word applies to women) she didn’t want to let me have an entire day of sick leave.

    “I had a colonoscopy. It wasn’t that bad,” she told me.

    This was a Dilbert moment. The whole experience of preparing for the colonoscopy had been a week’s worth of Dilbert moments.

    I will be under some anesthetic during my procedure. My supervisor did not believe me without a note from my doctor. After two hours of phone confusion (some other issues I will describe on a different post), I was able to get the following faxed to my work fax:

    To whom it may concern,

    Random will be having a procedure with Dr. XXXX on 10-30-2008, and will not be able to work on this date.

    Legally the patient is not to operate a vehicle, machinery or sign any legal paper work for 12 hours after the procedure do to the sedation that is used.

    If you have any questions please contact our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

    I might get in trouble if I suggested certain supervisors were full of certain substances, so I will leave the remainder of this comment to your imagination.

  9. vroni1208 Says:

    Your supervisor is a ninny, for want of a better, less offensive word! 🙂 Does she know what they are going to do to you? Duh!

  10. pandemonic Says:

    I should blog about how I met my husband. Believe me when I say this, but I did all the work. If I hadn’t, we’d still be single and childless. Someone has to take the bull by the horns.

  11. Average Jane Says:

    A cheerful,I-am-having-fun David? Sheesh..don’t think I could quite stomach that. I like him as he his. And I agree with Truce ofcourse though I like the lye gift too. I remember that post. As your most loyal fan, you really should consider putting me ahead of Pan on the pledge drive.


  12. […] He Says He’s Working On It… Posted on October 24, 2008 by pandemonic I know he says he’s working on it, but I can’t wait to for the news to come hot off the press. I have a busy day scheduled and […]

  13. modestypress Says:

    OK, if David does learn to have fun and be cheerful, we will have to make sure it is administered to him in very tiny doses with an eyedropper.

    Alarms will sound and we will have a complete lockdown if any traces of joy are detected.

    Pandemonic, I am glad to see you jumping the gun.

    My wife just left to be out of down for the next two days, so I am not jumping anything this weekend.

  14. modestypress Says:

    For each blogger to be properly serviced (so to speak) with shareware contributions two things must occur:

    a) Each of the people who seek to gain pledge contributions must write at least three brilliant, moving, touching, and disturbing posts per week. No excuses, unless the excuses are so brilliant…etc. that they qualify.

    b) Each of the pledge seekers must gain at least 100,000 readers who regularly read their blog each week.

    We can accomplish these goals by dividing the world into

    a) a new system of aristocracy (aka brilliant bloggers) and lower classes (aka readers)

    b) a new system of brilliant bohemian artists (aka bloggers) and patrons who subsidize the brilliant artists.

    Or not dividing the world and having a world where we all take in each others washing.

    In the meantime, each person write a brilliant post so David will have a reason to stay alive waiting for your next brilliant post and tell one friend to read David’s brilliant posts andcontribute a shareware contribution of $1 to David.

    When David’s blogs and our shareware/pledge drive campaign gets on National Public Radio (in between their incessant pledge drives)we will know we have arrived.


Leave a Reply

