Premium Premium

October 29, 2008

Today is the prep day for my colonoscopy. I clean out my system today. I took the first four pills at 9 am. At 3 pm I start drinking the liquids. Tomorrow I go through the actual procedure so they can see how likely it is that I have colon cancer.

I am dedicating these two days to the Help David Stay Alive Pledge Drive. If you mail a contribution today or tomorrow I will think of you each time I take a trip to the toilet. On Friday, I would like David to provide us with an update how contributions have been coming in.

I am providing first class premium quality premiums this week.

10 Responses to “Premium Premium”


  1. *withholds comment, giggling*

  2. Spectrum Says:

    Been there, done that.

  3. Spectrum Says:

    BTW, drinking the prep is horrible! It tastes like salty, warm lemon juice–only worse.

  4. modestypress Says:

    I have a glass of the prep fluid right beside me.

    Reaches. Drinks. [Gag]

  5. truce Says:

    okay, stop, you’re making me feel queasy.

    Tra-la-la, I can’t hear youuuuuuu *puts fingers in ears*


  6. I don’t envy you one bit. I did that once in my twenties, and I think I’ve decided that the risk of colon cancer is just fine with me. The memory remains horrifyingly vivid.

    Hopefully I’ll make it out of the house again by Friday. Currently I am pleasantly dizzy from a combination of Kentucky bourbon and cough syrup. I’m pretty sure I shouldn’t drive.

  7. pandemonic Says:

    Oh, I hear the prep is the worst part. I’ve been putting off mine, because when my husband had it done last year, we found out it was $3000. I don’t have the money right now. Maybe in the spring, when things are more flush. (No pun intended.)


  8. Yes, the prep’s nasty — but refilling your innards afterward’s not exactly wonderful either. On the whole, it’s just a not-fun thing. I remember telling someone on the way in not to irritate me ’cause if I bit their head off and ate it I’d have to start all over again.


  9. I hope the exploration went well, and that you’re not too miserable.

    Report: One pledge this week, with cute cat decorations.

  10. vroni1208 Says:

    I hope it went well!

    Hey, my pledge had kitty on it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

