On the 9:30 Ferry

November 1, 2008

My wife answered the phone. A little voice said, “We will be on the 9:30 ferry.”

“We are waiting for you,” my wife answered.

“That’s pretty good,” said my wife. Not five years old and she calls us to tell us when she will be arriving.

“Yes,” I said. “She will probably going to a closing to buy her own house when she is eight years old.”

“Anyway, she will have her own cell phone, her own iPod, and will be text messaging her friends by then,” said my wife.

The mommies and RG shold arrive in about ten minutes.

2 Responses to “On the 9:30 Ferry”


  1. I was just thinking the other day about the fact that RG was not yet three when I first “met” her via your blog. It’s weird that she talks on the phone now. It’s kind of sad, if you know what I mean. Children are children for such a short time, and grownups forever and ever once they get there. Until they revert to their second childhood of senility, that is, but that’s not nearly as much fun for observers as the first childhood is.

  2. Corina Says:

    I agree with David. It’s good but it’s kind of sad. I remember crying when my daughter finally learned to say “commercial” properly. Up til that moment, she always said “mckercial”. When she said it right, I knew she wasn’t my baby any more.


Leave a Reply

