Random Grandaughter: Portrait Photographer

November 4, 2008

As we visited the Friendly Neighbors and their poultry, she explained that one of the chickens, a Rhode Island Red, was the head of the pecking order. Indeed, the hen pushed the other chickens aside to get the best bits of lettuce as Random Granddaughter held them out to the flock.

A couple of the chickens are black. They are Australopes. Random Granddaughter has an Australope at her preschool.

One of the Australopes stood at the fence to the chicken yard clucking loudly. The Friendly Neighbor explained that she detected some danger outside the garden–perhaps a weasel or a fox–and was warning the other hens.

The hens are specialized. They have a boss lady and an alarm lady.

As we headed out of the garden, RG asked Mommy for her digital camera. She then told everybody she wanted to take a picture of them. We stood under an archway. She directed us where to stand, and told Grandma to kneel down so she could get everybody in the picture. She took a few other pictures as well, with practiced skill and confidence.

I downloaded the pictures to my computer. The portrait of the Barely Extended Family came out well, nicely framed and level. RG at four years old is already a skillful photographer.

When the next contributions to the Keep David Alive Drive reach $25, I will post the picture on my      picture storage web site and make it available to the persons or person who have made the contribution. When you send your contribution to David, put your name and indicate that it is for the RG snapshot premium. David, please keep track and let me know.

Random, the merciless pledge slave driver

15 Responses to “Random Grandaughter: Portrait Photographer”


  1. Mine is so going in the mail today! I made a particular note of it yesterday. When you take care of RG on the ninth, you need to make sure to tell her how much we appreciate her taking a picture!

    Don’t forget that brownie with nuts for her, either, I’m feeling very brownie-deficient lately.


  2. Okay, it’s off — but I forgot to mention to David I wanted to take advantage of the family photo premium! Please consider this notice… 🙂 I am trying to think of a premium I could offer to this excellent cause.

  3. pandemonic Says:

    So, do I get anything for my past $25? I was expecting persimmon cookies in the mail from Truce, but sadly my mailbox is stuffed full of junk like political flyers.

    I might need my own pledge drive pretty soon…

  4. modestypress Says:

    Pandemonic,

    You get to read the rest of my story about how I found my wife to be after I lost her. As well as the story about how she threw herself out of her house on her 18th birthday.

    As far as raising money for you, I’m not sure.

    The trouble is that David has set the bar so high or so low, depending on how you want to look at it. I hope you are not going to start posting about wanting to end it all.

    This is reminding me of a woman I used to teach with. When she ran out of sick days and leave days she would tell the principal that a grandparent had died. I think she ended up losing more grandparents than Random Granddaughter has now.

    I am thinking (though not moving very well on it) of starting a business, so perhaps there may be a way for you to participate in it profitably.

    More to come.


  5. A pledge drive business? Professional fundraisers are in high demand!


  6. Pan, you’re getting editing, remember?

    Mr R — how about if next month if people donate 25 or more dollars David gets sent a copy of The Carrot Seed to read to Charlotte?

    Thinking…trying to get outside the box here, but you know how my people are…


  7. I think Pan is afraid to take me up on the editing offer. 🙂

    Mr. R, I shall keep track diligently of the photo op premium submissions.


  8. She shouldn’t be afraid of you, David. ME, she should be afraid of. And probably is. Ha.

  9. modestypress Says:

    David, once people saw that my pledge drive was actually bringing in money, they began to think Hey, I would like to get in on this as well.

    Such a reaction is understandable enough, but too things to keep in mind:

    a) You are a connoiseur of suffering. People read your blog posts because they bring readerss in touch with true anguish.

    b) You are very talented. It’s a little early to say for sure, but your blog posts may qualify as serious literature, something you thought you were doing in the meantime while you were working on your great novel or whatever, but your blogs may be your great work.

    Perhaps as a premium, you can send copies signed in blood to contributors. Something like having a bit of Van Gogh’s ear as a memento.

    I am so sick. But it’s in a good cause.

  10. modestypress Says:

    “two things to keep in mind.” I am so dyslexic as well.

  11. Corina Says:

    Oops! I read the post and was going to comment but then I read all the comments and forgot what the post was about so now I lost my comment.

    Sorry. I mind wanders easily these days.

  12. vroni1208 Says:

    Hey, my comment disappeared! Well, I posted it on my site also. Take a look. 🙂

  13. pandemonic Says:

    Ha ha… I’m not afraid of David’s editing, or the Cat’s. Although the Cat has yelled at me for my abuse of “ly” words. Honest, Kitty, Kitty, I’m doing much better now. 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear about how the wife got lost, then found. I keep coming back here to get the rest of the story.


  14. Mr. Random, I believe the photo premium count is now up to $5, unless you would like to count your own contribution, in which case it is up to $10. And thank you to this week’s contributors for your thoughtful cat-related enclosures.

  15. modestypress Says:

    I will work this weekend on uploading two pictures to my photo site:

    a) portrait of my wife and I and the Friendly Neighbors taken by RG

    b) picture of RG petting a chicken.

    People who paid their pledges should email me at eman_modnar@yahoo.com and I will send them an invitation to view the pictures.


Leave a Reply

