RG’s Day at the Zoo with Cherry Vile Prep (Part 1)

November 18, 2008

Reading Truce’s blog, I realized that Random Granddaughter is likely to grow up to be Truce.Although she is only four years old, RG is losing her innocence. My posts about RG have been the most popular posts on my blog. As Pandemonic (something of a “soul sister” to me) wrote about RG:
[Now I can’t find the pos on her blog that Pandemonic wrote about RG. Oh, well.]

I am going to write a fairly long sequence of posts about my day at the zoo with RG. I will warn you at the start that this starts out on a with a dark, dour, melancholy tone; in fact much of the beginning tastes like Cherry Vile, the nasty “prep” drink I imbibed in preparation for my recent colonoscopy. So I better reassure you that Random Granddaughter is doing fine. Well, as fine as can be expected for a little girl who is having an existential crisis.

Do four-year-old girls have existential crises? Or is it just Grandpa having a spiritual colonoscopy? Perhaps, but as you read the story of RG’s day at the zoo, you may find an objective correlative (as T. S. Eliot termed it when he talked about how to tell if there is any there, there, in a work of literature).

So take a deep draught of Cherry Vile, or skip a few posts to get to the “good” part (just as the colonoscopy itself isn’t nearly as bad as the prep). I will mark the titles so you know when I get past the boring philosophical part. Tell you what I will do. The morbid posts, full of sophomoric existential philosophy will be titled: RG’s Day at the Zoo with Cherry Vile Prep and the regular sort of cute RG posts will be titled: RG’s Day at the Zoo with a Scope.

7 Responses to “RG’s Day at the Zoo with Cherry Vile Prep (Part 1)”


  1. When I told the nice PA who was giving me my pre-op appointment that a friend had used the cherry flavoring, her eyes got wide. “Oh no….” she breathed sympathetically. “No, no….that’s the worst one! Do the lemon-lime.” And I did, and it wasn’t quite vile. It tasted like flat Sprite that someone had put salt in.

    I have all my extra packages. I’m not sure why.

  2. truce Says:

    Oh dear, I’m starting to feel anxious…

  3. spectrum2 Says:

    Huh? Great day! I had no idea until just now that the shareware post stays at the top, and for the past 3 days have been wondering when something new would appear. Duh,me.

  4. modestypress Says:

    Spectrum, I was worried that my shareware post anchored to the top would cause confusion, and I should have explained it better. My duh.

    Also, I sent you an email.

    Truce,

    Is this the first time in your life you have felt anxious? Maybe RG will have some advice.

    Fluffy,

    At the pharmacy, the clerk who waited on me (obviously unfamiliar with the process) asked me if I wanted the flavoring. I said “yes.” With unerring random accuracy I picked the cherry and tossed the rest.

    Perhaps I will get a sweat shirt that says on the front, “I chose Cherry Vile.” On the back, it will say, “Choose something else.”

  5. Pete Says:

    “Do four-year-old girls have existential crises? Or is it just Grandpa having a spiritual colonoscopy? ”

    Priceless… Your eloquence shines bright here, and it is what keeps me coming back.

  6. modestypress Says:

    Pete,

    Thank you. I guess.


  7. E-mail me your address and I’ll happily mail you all the other packets. Now I’m curious if they could be used to flavor something else.


Leave a Reply

