Truck Still Tied to the Railroad Tracks

November 30, 2008

A couple of hours after we expected Angelica to call, and a couple of minutes after my wife said, “I think we should forget about her,” the phone rang. Angelica said, “I am really sick. Everybody I work with is sick. I don’t want to make you sick. Can we postpone?”

We are supposed to meet her next Sunday. Stay tuned for the next episode of the “Perils of Angelica and her pickup truck.”

6 Responses to “Truck Still Tied to the Railroad Tracks”


  1. Hmmmmmmmm. Is she considerate, or merely buying time? Stay tuned until next week, and make sure you spray Lysol in the truck before test driving.

  2. Spectrum Says:

    You could have built a pick-up from junkyard spare parts by now, you know?

  3. modestypress Says:

    David and Spectrum,

    1) Would either of you have received so much entertainment?

    2) I am so looking forward to meeting Angelica.

    Various problems have to be worked out even if we meet. Is the truck still in her mother’s name? If so, how I get her to sign the title from Chile?

    I still have to get the truck to my mechanic for his inspection. Many years ago, when I lived in Oregon, I made arrangements to buy a used car. I took it to a very competent and reliable mechanic for inspection. The owner had assured me that the car was in excellent shape. I suspect this sentiment was honestly believed.

    The mechanic informed me that the car had serious problems that would have cost several thousands of dollars to fix.

    When I informed the owner I was not buying the car, his feelings were very hurt and he spoke very resentfully to me. It was as if I had committed some egregious error by revealing his car was not as in good shape as he believed.

    It’s possible this may occur with Angelica, who is sure her mother’s car is in impeccable condition.

    Also, after her failure to follow up on contact me after she had contacted me, I expressed myself fairly strongly to her both in email and a message I left on her phone.

    At this point, she may regard me as an abusive, domineering, and demanding person. On the other hand, she may love such treatment. An entire novel may emerge from the purchase (or failure to purchase) a Ford Ranger pickup truck.

    Incidentally, a Ford dealer near where I work is advertising that they will provide share of Ford stock to anyone who test drives one of their trucks. I am very tempted to walk into their showroom next week and say, “I probably will not actually buy a truck from you. However, I would like to test drive one of your trucks just to get the free shares of stock.” Just to see if they will actually follow through. Though, as General Motors, Ford, and Chrysler all seem to be on the verge of going out of business, getting free shares of Ford stock may somehow make me responsible for settling some of Ford’s debts.

  4. pandemonic Says:

    Their stock is barely worth the paper it’s printed on. I would strongly urge you to pass on that deal.

  5. truce Says:

    People who insist that their mother’s truck is in excellent condition may, in fact, be basing that statement on the fact that their mother kept the cab tidy and that there are only a few dings and scratches on the paintwork… it may have nothing to do with the state of the engine or other moving parts (I don’t know what they are, I’m an artist, what do you expect?).

    Caveat emptor.

  6. modestypress Says:

    That’s why the truck is going to visit one of the best mechanics in Seattle; a man who may love his mother but makes sure her truck is impeccable and reliable. Though on the other hand, the shoemaker’s children have no shoes, so the brilliant mechanic’s mom may have to push her car where it stalled in an intersection.


Leave a Reply

