RG’s Day at the Zoo Withe Cherry Vile Prep (Part 10)

December 1, 2008

Dropping down from horrible to merely awful, David Rochester suffered child abuse from his father as a child, catapulting him into a syndrome called DID. With amazing strength and perseverance, he survived and is turning himself into a more or less “normal” person like the rest of us. (If some of my readers are more normal than the rest of us, I don’t want to hear about it.)

David also suffered dreadful abuse from other children.

Some children who suffer such abuse go on rampages, once in a while killing their parents; in other cases going on rampages in their school and killing teachers and fellow students.

Although there are many such abused children, most of them do not strike out this way. When I was a high school teacher, I encountered a boy who sat in class sketching pictures of people being mutilated and dying in horrible ways. Concerned, I talked to the school nurse, who knew the boy and his brother, who manifested similar symptoms. There was some dreadful history about the two brothers and child abuse. Nevertheless, they never ran amok (at least in the time they were in high school),

In short, there are many children who suffer terrible experiences in childhood, but most do not engage in mass murder; though probably quite a few do become terrible spouses, partners, and parents, some engage in criminal behavior, many consume lots of therapy and psychotropic drugs, some consider, attempt, or  commit suicide.

In David’s case, although I do not know him personally, based on reading his blog postings for several years, I will state with some foolish confidence that he has turned himself into a fairly decent person.

I have started what I call a “shareware drive”; encouraging readers of David’s blogs to send him a small contribution to support his continuing blogging. My reasons are complicated and multitudinous.

For one thing, I am crazy, though for the most part harmlessly so.

For another reason, I get enjoyment and edification from reading David’s writing. I think it reasonable to reward him for writing posts that please and enlighten me and to encourage him to continue to write more such posts. While the number of people who have joined me in making modest shareware payments to David is not huge, some intelligent and sensitive people are also making small shareware payments to David; leading me to conclude that perhaps I am on to something sensible.

[See for example, littlefluffycat’s comment #11 in David’s post of December 1.]

Also, to repeat myself, David did not respond to abuse by becoming abusive. I think such behavior should be encouraged.

15 Responses to “RG’s Day at the Zoo Withe Cherry Vile Prep (Part 10)”

  1. David Rochester Says:

    Thanks, Mr. Random.

    I promise to continue my life journey of not being a mass murderer.

  2. modestypress Says:

    I am glad to hear that. It is probably a sensible decision.

    For one thing, I probably would not continue sending you shareware contributions if they have to be sent c/o of the Salem Men’s Penitentiary.

    Second, as far as I know, Mindi, my former high school student who collaborated in murdering her husband is still doing a life sentence in the Salem Women’s Penitentiary.

    As you know, in the past, I have tried to “fix you up” with a likely gal. Although I have seen the error of my ways in that regard and plan to leave your love life (or lack of love life) alone, if you were sent to Salem, I might revert to old ways and see if I can work out some way to create “connubial visits” with Mindi.

    All in all, better to stay on your virtuous path.

  3. spectrum2 Says:

    I am one of those people who experienced a normal childhood. Sure I had issues, but when I start feeling sorry for myself, I just think how much worse it could have been. Annoying, no way. I think of this scene in “As Good As It Gets” where Carol the waitress says,
    Well, you know — I still stay
    what I said. You’ve got to get
    past it all when it comes to your
    parents. We all have these horror
    stories to get over.

    And Jack Nicholson, playing Melvin Udall delivers this unforgetable line:

    That’s not true. Some of us have
    great stories… pretty stories
    that take place at lakes with
    boats and friends and noodle
    salad. Just not anybody in this
    car. But lots of people — that’s
    their story — good times and
    noodle salad… and that’s what
    makes it hard. Not that you had
    it bad but being that pissed that
    so many had it good.

  4. truce Says:

    who ARE the people who had the lakes and boats and noodle salad (and what is noodle salad??) – I’ve never met any of them.

    I did, however, have short periods when holidaying with my grandparents where I had farm animals and trees and quiet places where I could read for hours without being bothered. They were wonderful days, I wish I had appreciated them more at the time, but what child ever does? 🙂

  5. modestypress Says:

    I will yell at RG, “Appreciate it at this time! There are millions of children in America watching television, eating junk food, and getting spoiled instead of reading books, getting loving attention, and wholesome discipline who would give anything to be in your place! Appreciate it now! That’s an order!”

  6. pandemonic Says:

    I think I had a less than stellar childhood, but it never drove me to serial killing, or killing of any kind. I think it takes more than just abuse to push someone in that direction.

  7. modestypress Says:

    Pandemonic,

    There is a lot we don’t know in this regard. As I posted a while back, humans know on a crude level how to create killers and sociopaths, but from individual to individual you get a lot of variation. For example, consider Ismael Beah. He was trained as a child to be a killer. Not only that he was accused by the Austrailian press of being a liar and then sent to Oberlin College. With all those varieties of torture and human rights abuse, you would think he would be blowing up hotels in Mombai or something, but no, he’s just going on author tours.

    I don’t know much about the details of the Carnation killer, but I’ve seen assertions that she was not abused.

    I didn’t know the word sociopath when I was twelve, but I had the concept and I thought my brother had tendencies in that direction. As I was chasing him with a knife in my hand at the time, I am not the best witness for the prosecution.


  8. Truce, if you take, say, a nice mayonaissey egg salad, and put noodles in it (something like penne or fusilli), you have noodle salad. Or *a* noodle salad, anyway.

    This is why I trot after you, Mr. R, only you could discuss sociopaths and noodle salad.

    I don’t read a lot of nonfiction, I don’t have that kind of mind; but I’m rather fond of both Augusten Burroughs and his brother.

    Augusten, as you may recall, was given by his crazy mother to his equally crazy shrink, who was also housing a pedophile that took a fancy to Augusten. Burroughs’ brother, tired of their father’s abuse, made a mad dash for freedom when he was about 16 or so, after reading the entire Encyclopedia Brittanica (among other things).

    Burroughs wound up a famous memoirist, and his brother wound up a famous inventor/car guy, and neither of them wound up a sociopath.

  9. spectrum2 Says:

    I don’t like noodle salad. But I like good times. I’m not pissed that I had it bad or that others had it better than me either. But, dear Truce, such pissy people exist. Then, there are the psychopaths. If one reads the psychologists report on the Columbine shootings, then one finds that Eric Harris was found to be a psychopath. No rotten childhood to blame. Sure he played violent video games, but the report stated that he was just aa psychopath, games or no games, childhood be damned. Some people are mean, just to be mean. He wasn’t “getting back” at his peers (again, not my opinion, the psychologists say this). He was seeking to make history by mass murdering people. In fact, in his own words is something like this said. Now for Dylan Klebold, he did have problems. Eric preyed on Dylan’s anger issues and they basically fed off each other. Psychologists say that if the Columbine shootings had not happened, then Eric would have went on to still do horrible things, perhaps worse things, and Dylan would have spent some time in juvie for his anger issues but with rehab counseling, would have went on to be a normal adult.

  10. spectrum2 Says:

    Oh, Random, the buttons you have pushed! I am on a real soap box here, and I appreciate you for opening this can o worms. (Enough mixed metaphors for ya?)


  11. I’m not really sure I buy that psychologists can predict with any reliability who will or won’t turn out to be a normal adult. It is the case that most kids who are violent at schools either have repeated peer abuse or uninvolved/uncaring parents.

    Of course I realize I’m prejudiced about this issue, being someone who would have become a school violence statistic if I’d had access to a weapon. But because my parents were responsible in some ways (though pretty unfortunate in other ways) I did not have access to weapons, nor did I have enough money to buy a weapon.

    I guess I could have built my own homemade bomb, but information about that kind of thing was less readily available when I was a kid.

  12. pandemonic Says:

    I just came back to add that I also do not like noodle salads. Noodles should be eaten hot, people.

  13. modestypress Says:

    Pandemonic,

    My dyslexic cataract-dimmed eyes first misread you comment as “Noodles should be eaten, not people.” Even though I eventually read the comment correctly, the first impression may be defensible as well.


  14. “Eat Noodles, Not People” — Mr. Random, you might just have come up with an excellent t-shirt slogan. When you retire in earnest, perhaps you could set up a Cafe Press account, and create t-shirts full of Neo-Thurbian goodness. I could see it being more remunerative than a buyout.

  15. spectrum2 Says:

    David,
    I assume you are talking about Klebold. Harris had friends, plenty of them, and “normal” parents. He was just psychotic. Klebold was a pretty healty child, except for his anger issues. Klebold was a senior the year of the shootings, and he had friends and even went to the prom. I’ve actually read excerpts from his diary, and he was in love with some girl pretty hot and heavy. It’s just he had trouble controling his anger. They got guns through a friend. Some girl who had just turned legal to buy a weapon in CO, and a guy (those people ended up in trouble). I guess where there is a will there is a way. I’m glad you didn’t seek a way, though, David.


Leave a Reply

