The Greater Depression, Part 2

December 3, 2008

Recently I wrote about how every political and economic leader is desperately avoiding the “D” word in describing our current “difficulties,” which I call the “Greater Depression.”

Society is catching up with me. First my most recent issue of The New Republic arrived in my mail box with a black cover and the word Depression on it.

Now from Associated Press:

WASHINGTON – A top Chrysler executive warned Wednesday that a carmaker collapse could send the economy spiraling into a depression, while the United Auto Workers agreed to new concessions for their companies.

We got a fairly decent crop of apples this year. I hope it’s even better next year so we can sell them on street corners.

4 Responses to “The Greater Depression, Part 2”

  1. spectrum2 Says:

    Having a spouse that works for a Fortune 100 company that is “connected” to the Big 3 automakers makes it hard too. His company is not in bad trouble, but since they rely some on the Big 3, their budget belts are being tightened.
    As for me, my salary is paid by the state, and we were just told in the newspaper that they had not collected enough tax money to pay for all the salaries for next year. This means a 2%-5% budget cut statewide.

  2. pandemonic Says:

    Well, I have plenty of tomatoes canned. And a big safe. And my husband just got his concealed weapons permit. Let’s see if anything gets at my pears.

  3. modestypress Says:

    My wife made a beautiful wreath for her sister, proud of herself for making such a personal and thrifty gift. She took it to the post office.

    “$20 to send it!” she exclaimed.

    “Oversize package,” replied the postal clerk.

    “Live and learn,” my wife said to me this morning.


  4. At Sunday School they taught the children how to make edible wreathes out of pretzels, twizzlers, and melted white chocolate. I’m thinking that’s the way to go.


Leave a Reply

