Grandpa and RG Visit the Zoo. Chapter 3: Block Violence.

December 11, 2008

Next RG headed for an area where children can play with blocks. I suspect the blocks are made from tropical hardwoods (chopped out of trees grown on plantations so they are not “endangered,” a distinction lost on four -year-old children, but I am sure much appreciated by their parents.) Many children were playing with blocks and wandering around.

RG piled some wooden discs into a tower. A child of about three was wandering around and flailing wildly, ignored by his mom, who was happily chatting with another mom. His arm struck RG’s tower of blocks; the blocks toppled, the toddler looked on his destructive work with satisfaction.

RG looked on the toddler with a look on her face that indicated to me that she was considering toppling the toddler to the ground as violently as he had toppled her blocks. However, she controlled herself, and the expression changed to one that seemed to express: young children today…what can you do with them?

RG is growing up, I said to myself, and learning to sublimate that natural instinct we all feel to exterminate irritating people.

Next: Gecko, no Geico

6 Responses to “Grandpa and RG Visit the Zoo. Chapter 3: Block Violence.”

  1. truce Says:

    Good lord, she has more self control than I do.

  2. modestypress Says:

    Truce,

    I have two equally frightening thoughts about the mommies’ skillful parenting:

    a) They will succeed in turning RG into a civilized human being.

    b) They will not succeed in turning Rg into a civilized human being.

  3. Spectrum Says:

    Mr R., isn’t that the fear w/most parents? ha!

  4. Michael the little boot Says:

    You’ve just named the fears which are my reasons NOT to have children. I’m a scaredy-cat. Actually, the thought of having kids – and having the ability to screw them up as bad as my parents did me – makes me whither into something even a scaredy-cat could demolish!

  5. modestypress Says:

    Michael, I agree. I think people should be much more cautious about having children than they are. My wife and I would not have had a child if she had not become pregnant by accident (despite taking precautions) on our honeymoon.

    People who do have children should take the responsibility very seriously but also stay lighthearted about the matter.

  6. Michael the little boot Says:

    That’s a great way to look at it. I think it’s my inability to stay light-hearted about it which is another big reason I’ve avoided it thus far!


Leave a Reply

