Grandpa and RG Visit the Zoo. Chapter 5: Food Circus.

December 13, 2008

After gecko time, RG felt ready for lunch (though I suspect food finicky RG wasn’t much taken with the gecko’s ideas of divine cuisine). She put on her shoes again, gathered her pack, and we walked to the food circus.

On the way in, she looked at the snacks and asked for a package of “Sun Chips.” I said, “Let’s eat the lunch you brought, first.” She ate her sandwich and about half of her yogurt and strawberries in a calm, levelheaded way. Then after I put her leftovers away, she said, “I am still hungry.”

I said, “So now you want some junk food?”

She said, “Sun chips are not junk food.” I thought that was a sensible answer and that she had done what I had asked her to do in a reasonable way, so I gave her enough money to buy herself a package of chips.

The weather was not good, but we walked around some exhibits. RG especially wanted to see the lions, but the lions were not entranced by NW weather and were hiding somewhere out of sight. Eventually we entered an exhibit of exotic ducks that seemed happy enough in the NW rain and wind. A zoo keeper was feeding the ducks and talking to visitors about their ducky African lifestyles. She offered RG some duck food so she could help out with feeding the ducks. RG gravely threw duck food to a variety of ducks.

At that point, we decided to head back home. RG first indicated that she wanted another snack after she got home. Everyone has learned that if RG goes too long without sustenance, she becomes cranky, so we take her requests for snacks with great seriousness, though her snack food plan diet is built like her towers of blocks;  perhaps also suffering from a tendency to tilt and then fall in comparison to the diets shown on “balanced food group,” diets. For that matter, so do my mixed metaphors.

RG then looked at me and said, “I am not going to take a nap” and awaited my reaction with an interested look. I have been aware that RG is carefully analyzing lines of authority. In fact earlier that morning, she had said to me, “Mommy is in charge of this house. Mama is also in charge of this house. And I am also in charge of this house.”

Delving into international relations, she continued: “Grandma is in charge of your house. You are also in charge of your house.” I could see that RG was carefully analyzing how a feminist society will be run. I have also been aware that she is thinking through whether Grandpa really has any authority to tell her what to do. Random Granddaughter may have some genes from Robespierre, Trotsky, Lenin, Castro, or Guevara in her genetic heritage, as she is often staging serious revolts. Although various rebellions against mommies have been brutally suppressed, and she knows better than to take on Grandma, she definitely considers a coup against Grandpa in the realm of possibility.

I have been trying to finesse my way out of an all out war, so I ignored her comment. As we walked on the way out of the zoo, we passed a building. RG said, “Let’s go in there.”

Next: RG Discovers Consumerism

11 Responses to “Grandpa and RG Visit the Zoo. Chapter 5: Food Circus.”

  1. Michael the little boot Says:

    Authority seems like an illusion. Not necessarily one I’d like to get rid of – but it does seem disproportionately based on the subject not realizing s/he could probably just do what s/he wants.

    Oh, I point out the obvious. Thought I’d let you know, since I’m new.

  2. modestypress Says:

    Michael, I think you made an excellent comment. Random Granddaughter is a very bright little girl and she is figuring out that there probably isn’t any reason why she can’t do just what she wants to do.

    The trick is to convince her that what she wants to do is what I want her to do. Getting harder and harder to pull that trick on a little girl who suspects the Grandpa (as in the Wizard of Oz) is a man hiding behind a curtain.


  3. Yes, those lines of authority are blurred. Does she recognize the authority of teachers at her pre-K?

  4. modestypress Says:

    As she approaches approaches “warp speed” (also known as kindergarten) at K miles per second the plot becomes quite complicated. For all I know she currently runs her pre-K classroom. Stay tuned; as I mentioned not long ago, there are gigantic plot comlications afoot.

  5. truce Says:

    As every little girls knows, the world does, in fact, revolve around her. Especially where grandparents are concerned.

    If its any consolation, I think all of RG’s fans who read this blog would cave into her requests far faster than you do. I know I couldn’t resist her for a second.

  6. modestypress Says:

    Truce,

    That is why Mrs. Random and I are allowed to be RG’s grandparents and the rest of you are not.

    Don’t try this at home.

    Beeing mean grandparents who say “no” is a job for highly trained professional grandparents.

    For example, when RG was three years old, the mommies took her to visit sperm donor’s mom. That grandmom had a television running in her living room. As that was in the time when RG’s precious little vulnerable infant mind was not allowed exposure to television.

    Even though that grandma is a trained clinical pyschologist in professional practice, she was sternly informed that three-year-olds in our family do not watch television.

    However, she will in time be rewarded for getting with the program. RG has no fear of heights and loves to spin and twirl and be upside down. The day will come when on visits to fairs and amusement parks she will want to go on the highest roller coasters and the fastest twisters.

    Grandma, Grandpa, Momma, and Mommy don’t like such rides. Dad’s grandma does. She will be the designated wild rides Grandma.

  7. pandemonic Says:

    My. You really have to consider publishing the RG Chronicles in book form.

  8. modestypress Says:

    I think about it. I may just collect them for RG to read on her 15th birthday.

  9. Michael the little boot Says:

    Some of these highly trained professional grandparents need to teach many of the parents I meet regularly how to do this whole “saying no” thing. I work in a public library, and have to do most of the saying no for them. Unfortunately, that library is in California, or I’d ask how much you charge for a one-hour session!

  10. modestypress Says:

    Michael, I also work in a public library system, and I have often observed the same phenomenon. Sometimes while I am teaching a class, a child somewhere starts screaming, perhaps to help the class along. “What fine lungs that child has,” I comment approvingly.

    On the other hand, people who are trying to study quietly are not much appreciative of my teaching a class, and people who are waiting to use a computer do not consider it fair that students are using computers for a class. The library (as well as most other parts of society) are full of gored oxen.

  11. Michael the little boot Says:

    “The library (as well as most other parts of society) are full of gored oxen.” Classic! I’m circulating that one…with your permission, of course.


Leave a Reply

