Prequel to RG’s New Educational Circumstances (Maybe)

December 22, 2008

This is a major denouement to my story about RG and her trip with Grandpa to the zoo.

To provide a little context for current events, I now need to go back into time to April when Random Granddaughter was rejected by Harvard. I first told this story in a private blog I operated for a while, but then stopped using. Mostly I was talking about unhappy events in my job, a job from which I retire at the end of January. However, I also talked about some touchy issues involving RG and her preschools and her rejection by Harvard.

Events seem to be changing, and as is frequently a case in my life, I am experiencing irony poisoning.

I will quote some excerpts from my other blog, posted in April of 2008. In my usual irritating fashion, it will take a little while to rejoin the present.

I begin with some ancient history regarding my daughter’s early schooling.

The retrospective prequel will take up five chapters:

Part 1: My daughter and the school for very bright children (SVBC).

Part 2: My daughter’s partner and the SVBC.

Part 3: RG’s Rejection by the SVBC.

Part 4: An ironic parallel with my daughter’s rejection by a graduate school followed by her acceptance after studying calculus through distance learning.

Then there will be two interludes:

Part 5: Dental torture inflicted on my daughter.

Part 6: The big West Coast snow storm of December 2008.

This will irritate you for about a week. At that point, I will tell you about the new circumstances (maybe) of RG’s educational career.

6 Responses to “Prequel to RG’s New Educational Circumstances (Maybe)”


  1. I tremble on a precipice of anticipatory excitement.

  2. pandemonic Says:

    Ooo… me too… I especially want your take on the big Snow Storm, although I’m sure I could relate Bigger Ones. Don’t worry, I don’t want to think about them.

  3. modestypress Says:

    David, so do we all. The story is still unfolding.

    Pan, as far as blizzards go, this is only a small one. For us West Coast wimps go, it’s big enough. The worst effects so far are 1) We have to dress warmly and use up a lot of our firewood. 2) We can’t get out of our long, down-hill driveway. 3) I can’t get to work (though I am being permitted to work at home). 4) The plans by the mommies and RG to visit us on Christmas Eve have been postponed. Some of these “inconveniences” are also conveniences, but we are frustrated about not seeing the family for a while.

  4. truce Says:

    I am confused. However, that is not difficult since I am very easily confused. I will do my humble best to follow what follows as I am eager to hear all news concerning RG.

    Proceed.

  5. modestypress Says:

    We are all confused. Except perhaps RG, who may know more than the rest of us.

  6. pandemonic Says:

    Confusion is better than reality, Truce. I’d rather be confused. It’s my drug of choice.


Leave a Reply

