Prequel to RG’s Changed Circumstances–Part 3: RG is Rejected by the Elite Pre-School

December 24, 2008

As Mommy (my daughter’s Out of Law partner) teaches in a private School for Very Bright Children (SVBC), I asked her what happens when teachers wants to enroll one of their own children in the school. Do such children have to pass the same test? I assumed it would be very difficult for the school to reject such a child. Mommy rolled her eyes a bit.

I assumed this meant that they gave children of teachers every benefit of the doubt.

Do they drool on themselves in public? No? Bright children-they’re in.

After the rejection of Random Granddaughter, my respect for SVBC has gone up.

Or down.

I’m not sure.

As Random Granddaughter has moved beyond the “crèche level” (I’m guessing this means toilet trained and weaned), she is now a pre-schooler and has to pass an IQ test. How do they evaluate the intelligence of a four-year-old? I wondered.

The school asked Mommy to bring RG into the preschool and they observed how she interacted with the other children and participated in the school activities.

At the time, I regarded RG as a very sociable child. I had observed her having a very good time in crowds and at parties. I have observed her being the life of a party. I have seen her charm complete strangers. However, I had also observed being very shy and very cautious about new situations and experiences. [After I wrote this section, I learned that RG is really an introvert.]

For all I knew, just like David, she may already have had  “alternate personalities” in her little (well, big for a four-year-old) body. Though as far as I can tell, she has had nothing but a loving environment since birth and no traumatic experiences.

She might beg to differ, and point out how she has been tortured on a daily basis by parents’ and grandparents’ insistence that she try out different foods, eat dinner before desert, and say “Please” and “Thank you” in complete sentences. Not to mention cleaning up her toys after she is done playing with them, holding an adult’s hand when crossing the street, and wearing her helmet when riding her scooter.

For example, “Bunny” (her favorite stuffed animal) often orders the dollies and other stuffed animals around in a threatening way. Probably Bunny forces them to take a bit of everything when RG serves them lunch. Who knows what the Bunny alternate personality might do as an adult? Work for a Playboy club?

In any case, RG visited the SVBC and took her test. She was struck by a burst of shyness, did not interact much with the other children and did not participate in the activities.

The admission committee told Mommy that she had not passed. However, they realized the unfamiliar venue was likely to cause “text anxiety”, so they sent a team of two teachers to observe RG at her own preschool where she could be monitored in a more familiar environment.

The observers told Mommy that a) RG did not seem like a bright enough child for SVBC and b) the pre-school was not a very good pre-school. The observers told Mommy she should get RG out of it as soon as possible. (Mommy had already come to conclusion b) on her own and had already decided to make alternate pre-school arrangements.)

A friend of the mommies is a certificated Montessori teacher and the mother of a small child. She started a small preschool in her home. The mommies enrolled RG in this school. Every indication is that she loves it and is flourishing. However, next fall, it will be time for RG to start kindergarten. RG is very conscious of this transition and takes great offense if anyone calls her current education institution “pre-school.” She firmly corrects the offender that she is in ‘Pre-K.”

3 Responses to “Prequel to RG’s Changed Circumstances–Part 3: RG is Rejected by the Elite Pre-School”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    Yes, I agree with RG. Pre-K is pre-school on steroids. However, it is not yet full K. Pre-school is fun and games. In Pre-K, they inject some actual learning. Then in K, you are doomed. That’s the beginning of the end.

    🙂

    Either way, I’m sure RG can handle it.

  2. modestypress Says:

    I remember loving to play with very large blocks in kindergarten. I have a very vivid memory of the first day of first grade. I looked around the room for the large blocks. I saw none. I asked the first grade teacher where the blocks were.

    She said, “You’re a big boy now. You’re in first grade. You won’t be playing with blocks any more.”

    I knew life was downhill from that point.

    One day, I was in a line with my first grade cohort. Next to us, a line of kindergarteners were going somewhere in a line. As they walked by, I sang out to them cruel right there as I can’t carry a tune one bit), “Kindergarten baby, born in the gravy.”

    The first grade teacher chastized me severely for taunting kindergarteners. My last compensation for being in first grade was taken away from me.

  3. pandemonic Says:

    This made me smile, even though it was sad. Yup. Beginning of the end.


Leave a Reply

