End of Prequel to RG’s Changed Circumstances and an Odd Parallel with my Daughter’s Changed Circumstances

December 25, 2008

[Keep in mind the following was written back in April. Shortly, I will explain how circumstances have changed.]

Mama (my daughter) applied for graduate school at the University of Washington a couple of years ago to study medical statistics. She was rejected because she was competing with math majors who had stronger math backgrounds. Mama studied calculus by distance learning and applied again. This time she was accepted.

Perhaps if RG studies for a year, and then apply for SVBC kindergarten, like Mama, she will be accepted on her second application.

RD still has her calculus books. RG sometimes has trouble getting to sleep. However, I am sure the calculus lesson she will get instead of a “bedtime story” will probably help her achieve slumber. And who knows, perhaps Bunny, or one of the other of her alternates, has an unexpected flair for calculus.

Also, even with the discount given to a teacher, SVBC is very expensive.

Maybe, like Mama, RG will just have to go to a public kindergarten and take her lumps with the other proles.

6 Responses to “End of Prequel to RG’s Changed Circumstances and an Odd Parallel with my Daughter’s Changed Circumstances”

  1. Baron von Rochester Says:

    I actually stopped by just to wish you and Mrs. Random a happy snowbound holiday.

  2. modestypress Says:

    Thank you, David. Mrs. Random and I had a happy holiday, but we spent quite a bit of it shoveling snow. However, at the end, we decided it would probably not be safe to try and get out tomorrow.

  3. pandemonic Says:

    I’m wondering if you and the Missus are still around. I’m hoping neither of you fell into a drift. While I don’t like snow, at least I’m used to it.

    Have a good New Year. Has to be better than the last one, doesn’t it?

  4. modestypress Says:

    Thank you, pandemonic. We are doing OK, but a night of no power and mini-blizzard that kept us from traveling into town for almost two weeks revealed the inner wimps in both of us. As you can see, I am still working on the new circumstances for RG story and posted today. She has been traveling with mommies to Southern Oregon to see an Uncle and Aunt-in Law and grandparents visiting from the East Coast. We are hoping that weathers and schedules permit us to visit each other one of these years. I am also trying to get ready finish up my last month of employment after working all my life as a wage slave. Just a lot of commotion going on.

    The chain saw started cheerfully despite the cold. We have lots of fallen wood and trees from snow and wind. Next weekend will probably be a chain saw weekend. Tomorrow I have to go back to work after almost two weeks of working at home.

    My wife and I worked on getting ready for retirement life by alternating between cuddling and fussing.

  5. pandemonic Says:

    I wish I had a chain saw. You should see the sticks in our yard. After our blizzard and 14 inches of snow, we were blessed with Gulf Coast air and it was 62 degrees last weekend, a record breaker. Of course, when the warm came up from the South, it brought winds gusting to 70 mph. That brought many trees down. I think there are still people without power.

  6. modestypress Says:

    Do you know how to use a chain saw, Pan? I didn’t learn until I was 60, so I am proud of myself. Also, if you don’t know anything about chain saws and are thinking of getting one, I can tell you the best kind to get. (I now consider myself an expert on the topic, with very little basis for such high self-esteem on the matter.)


Leave a Reply

