Continuing Adventures of Random Granddaughter, Star of Blog and Monitor Screen, Part 1

March 12, 2009

A few weekends ago, Mommies and Random Granddaughter visited us, in part to help celebrate my wife’s 62nd birthday.

Shortly after they arrived on Saturday afternoon, we walked over to the Friendly Neighbors so the mommies could buy some fresh eggs and so RG could pet the chickens and view the ducks.

Mommy (my daughter’s Out of Law Partner and RG’s birth mother) teaches at a private school for high-IQ children I call for blog purposes SVBC (School for Very Bright Children). When Mommy decided to move RG to the school’s preschool, the school rejected her as a) not smart enough and b) too introverted. However, a while later, SVBC said, Let’s rethink that and tested RG again. This time they said, very, very smart; we will be happy to enroll her.

The mommies have been considering whether to enroll RG in public kindergarten or SVBC kindergarten. As we walked to the Friendly Neighbors, RG told me, “I will be going to SVBC.”

I was a little surprised. I thought the decision was not coming for a couple of months.

Later, the mommies told me that SVBC (which is very expensive, as befits a private K-12 school that is rather like a version of Harvard, Princeton, Yale, or Stanford for small children) had made a very generous financial aid offer. I realized that the mommies wanted to send RG to the school but had been worried about the cost, especially as my daughter will be quitting her job and taking another stab at graduate school next fall.

Mommy also confessed she had peeked at IQ scores of other students. As a teacher she is allowed to do so. Even among this collection of carefully selected little smart asses, RG scores as one of the brightest there.

5 Responses to “Continuing Adventures of Random Granddaughter, Star of Blog and Monitor Screen, Part 1”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    Good for RG.

    I approve of such schools, but of course, I sent my own children to many years (including college) of private school. There’s something to be said of like minds who are interested in learning. (I’m not saying they are all like that, usually they start out like that in the beginning, and by third grade you can pick out the kids who are there because the parents are filthy rotten rich.)

    There’s plenty of time for RG to be exposed to the “real” world. Why hurry it by subjecting her to public school when there is an alternative? Believe me, kids grow up and catch on to the rest of humanity fast enough.

  2. modestypress Says:

    As my next post will explain, our main concern is that RG use the Force (her mental powers, not to mention her burgeoning skill at manipulating people) for the Light Side and not the dark side.

    Although I will no longer be around by the time her powers reach their full capacity, I still would not like to remembered as the grandparent of the first woman to be remembered with Adolph, Josef, et al.


  3. I agree with Pan — it’s nice for bright kids to be around other bright kids, esp. when they’re little. I think it can do wonders for a smart child’s sense of socialization to be among his or her intellectual peers.

  4. modestypress Says:

    At Mrs. Random’s urging, we told the mommies that we would contribute $100/month to help cover the cost of RG’s “pre-college college” education.

    We didn’t say it out loud, but I think we both made a mental addendum as long as she demonstrates evidence that she is staying on the good side of the force and displays a recent amount of evidence that she will use her powers for good and not evil.

    On the other hand, I am inclined to believe that she should learn to use firearms and learn skills of personal self defense, as I am not optimistic about the future of our civilization.

    RG may use her powers to help make the world a better and more kindly place. RG may have to use her powers to fight against the onslaught of barbarism and cruelty as our overpopulated and overstressed world collapses into chaos, and chicken pecks chicken.

  5. modestypress Says:

    As is frequently the case, my italics are out of control. Another sign of my dyslexia. I see the entire world as slanted and askew. This may also be a sign of my cataracts. My vision is definitely declining each day.

    RG may have to spend much of her childhood leading her blind grandfather around by the hand.


Leave a Reply

