Peru and Romania Are Purple Countries

March 23, 2009

 

The mommies agreed to host my favorite two volunteers for a brunch so I could keep in touch with them after I retired: Mary from Peru and S (and her husband F) from Romania. Mrs. Random and I arrived a few minutes early. I decided to prepare Random Granddaughter for her international visitors.

Random Granddaughter studied continents in preschool.. I had wondered what a “continent” means to a four year old child, but I decided to work with the knowledge she had gained, whatever it was.. I asked my daughter, “Do you have a globe?”

Random Daughter said, “No, but RG has a place mat with a map of the world.”

I got the place mat out. I asked RG, “Do you know where South America is?”

She pointed at South America. Boy is she smart I thought.

“Do you know where Europe is?” She pointed at Europe.

I pointed at Peru. I said, “Here is Peru in South America. Mary, who will be here in a few minutes is from Peru.”

I said, “Here is Romania in Europe. S, who will be here in about half an hour, is from Romania.”

The map showed different countries in different colors. I noticed that both Peru and Romania were purple. I pointed this out to RG. “In both Peru and Romania, everything is purple,” I told RG.

She gave me the LOOK. This is a look everyone in my family gives me. It means He is crazy but usually harmless.

 

Next: a boy named Sue and a girl named Mary.

5 Responses to “Peru and Romania Are Purple Countries”

  1. woo Says:

    I get given The LOOK quite frequently, too. Perhaps we were separated at birth.

  2. modestypress Says:

    Perhaps Pandemonic, you (woo), and I were Siamese triplets separated birth. Have there ever been Siamese triplets?


  3. You know, I’m not confident that I could find Romania on a map of Europe. I’m pretty sure I could find Europe, though.

  4. pandemonic Says:

    Ha ha… He is crazy but harmless…

    Don’t they say that about spree killers?

    Just kidding. 🙂


  5. No, the people who go on killing sprees are the people who seem normal and harmless. The people who seem crazy are generally the harmless ones.


Leave a Reply

