PostScript to a Really Strange Family

May 17, 2009

I did communicate with Mark a year or two after he was laid off from our job. His wife (a dancer and a ballet teacher, like my aunt Naomi who just died) had divorced him. Mark had left the Seattle area and was teaching at a community college in Yakima (eastern Washington state). I’ve since lost all contact with him.

Now that’s what I call a strange family.

For that matter, when Random Granddaughter, who has two co-mommies and two co-daddies, and five grandmas and four grandpas, gets a little older, I will tell her, “Anne Elise, you have a perfectly normal family, and you never forget it.”

2 Responses to “PostScript to a Really Strange Family”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    What’s the definition of “normal?” I mean, really. To me, everyone is normal which may be an abnormality in itself. I used to think my family was as abnormal as they come, but then realized that everyone thinks that, particularly if you’re right around 14 or 15.

  2. Pete Says:

    At 14 or 15 I not only thought I was normal, but better and smarter than everyone else! I was humbled in my thinking long ago… Now I am not normal, but very plased about that. I don’t much care for today’s “Norms.”


Leave a Reply

