Part 2 of My Second Memorial Day Post

May 29, 2009

The Friendly Neighbor continued to muse about deaths of people close to him.

[He has worked for the Boy Scouts of America all of his working life. On an earlier occasion I asked him how he had come to work for the Scouts.

At that time he said, “My father worked for the Scouts. He was half Lakota Sioux, so my sister and I are one quarter Indian. I don’t look much look like an Indian, but my sister (whom I have not met) looks exactly as you would expect an Indian woman to look, with long straight black hair and facial features typical of Indian people.

“My father was a very well-respected and much-beloved man. Over a hundred people came to his funeral because he was so admired.

“While he was still alive, he had insisted that I get a full college education, so I would always have something to fall back on. I majored in agricultural research, and if I had not gone to work for the Boy Scouts that is what I would have gone into, but my education was very useful for me in the work I did for the Scouts.”]

He continued, “After my father died, my sister and I told our mother that we would understand if she married again, and would support her. But she told us she could never love someone else as she loved our father, so she never married again. [His mother, whom I have met, died a couple of months ago.]

“After she died, I visualized them meeting again in Heaven. It give me a lot of comfort.”

About that time, we arrived home. I found the two stories quite moving, and they provided me with a lot of insight into him.

10 Responses to “Part 2 of My Second Memorial Day Post”

  1. Karen O Says:

    I love getting to know people, asking questions about their backgrounds. I think it is probably true that everyone has an interesting story or two in them.

  2. pandemonic Says:

    I think I’ll meet everyone I know in heaven. It’s going to be quite a crowd. Perhaps an unruly crowd.

  3. Chas Says:

    It works now.
    Isn’t it interesting the way people who have hope see life and death. It affects everything they are.

  4. modestypress Says:

    I have been thinking about the people I call “The Friendly Neighbors” and why I feel a warm bond with them and admiration for them that I don’t feel with most of the people at worldmagblog. (I should note that some of the people who posted recent comments, such as Karen O, Kim, and Chas, are people I have “met” at worldmagblog and further note that I consider myself on reasonably good terms with them.)

    I am not a Christian and not a religious believer to any religious tradition. However, I admire Roger Williams, the great Puritan who founded Rhode Island, a great deal, and consider him an archetype of the kind of Christian I admire and related well with.

    I consider the Friendly Neighbors to be very much in the Roger Williams tradition. I consider their church (where I volunteer a wee bit) to be a bit in the Roger Williams tradition. When I mention Roger Williams at worldmagblog, is is “damned with faint praise” as the saying goes.

    Or as Kurt Vonnegut said in Slaughterhouse-Five, So it goes…

  5. Pete Says:

    Don’t forget me! I wouldn’t lurk your blog if it weren’t for WMB! And Chas could have not said it better!
    Pete

  6. modestypress Says:

    Hi Pete! I have not forgotten about you and I think of you every week and especially now as the tayberries are blossoming and setting berries.

    Random Grandaughter (Anne Elise) is coming this Sunday to visit. None of the berries will be ripe I am afraid, so the sight of strawberries, raspberries, tayberries, and blueberries will tantalize her.

    I also do not forget that worldmagblog is where I first met you. That alone makes me think of that website with positive feelings (when I am not arguing with most of the people there). By the way, do you know about Lynn Vincent’s new gig?

  7. Pete Says:

    I have not heard about Lynn recently. I read the magazine cover to cover but don’t spend much time at the web site. I’m really glad your tayberries survived shipping. Again be warned…they are difficult to kill if you decide you don’t like them! I still have not been able to kill the parent of the ones I sent you. I think everything is going to die if we don’t get some rain here soon! This is our rainy season and it hasn’t rained in a month!

    Sorry if I derailed the post folks!

  8. modestypress Says:

    Pete, you did not derail the post. Yhis year we moved some of the posts in our garden around, so yout comment fits right in with the new layout.

    Lynn got a contract to work with ex-Vice Presidential candidate Sara Palin on Sarah’s next book project. I expect the experience will be good for both of them.

    The tayberries will have to fight it out with the raspberries, the boysenberries, the strawberries, and the blueberries. The slugs, the squirrels, the chipmunks are all mixing it up in there too. It’s more of a show than television wrestling.


  9. What’s a tayberry? I guess I could look it up, but I’d rather ask you.

  10. modestypress Says:

    Might as well have looked it up. I am cheating: from Wikipedia:

    The Tayberry is a cultivated shrub in the genus Rubus of the family Rosaceae bred in 1962 from a cross between a Blackberry and the red Raspberry at the Scottish Crops Research Institute, Invergowrie, Scotland, by Derek Jennings and David Mason. The fruit is sweeter, much larger, and more aromatic than that of the Loganberry, of similar origin. It is grown for its edible fruits which can be eaten raw, or cooked to make jam or other dishes, with a cropping period from early July to mid-August. It is named after the River Tay in Scotland.

    One of my faithful readers, Pete shipped it to me. It languished in pots for a couple of years because my wife was afraid to plant it in the garden. Finally we planted it and it does now look as if it will take over the garden, though it will have to fight to the death with the raspberries and the boysenberries for that honor.

    Anyway, it is just starting to set fruit; the bees love it; and we are waiting with baited breath, for out first taste, though probably the berry monster, Anne Elise, will eat them all.


Leave a Reply

