2009 Garden Report

June 14, 2009

Peonies
Peonies
Half Ripe Strawberries
Half Ripe Strawberries

A lurker to my blog site asked how our garden is doing. We have peonies. We have strawberries. What more does one need?

13 Responses to “2009 Garden Report”

  1. spectrum2 Says:

    I love the peonies. I am an awful gardner.

  2. woo Says:

    Lucky you don’t have house-rabbits. They LOVE half-ripe strawberries. I was never fast enough to enjoy a single one when Muddy, Dobby and Flospy were my house-mates… 😉

  3. woo Says:

    Oops, that should have been Flopsy, not Flospy

  4. modestypress Says:

    Spectrum,

    I will attempt to send you a Peony scent as an attachment.

    Woo,

    My wife told me today we have a rock rabbit. I brought down the pellet rifle. I haven’t seen it yet. If it comes anywhere near us or the house or the strawberries it will be an ex-rabbit.

    Also, I remember you having one rabbit: Muddy. Now you had three rabbits. Well, rabbits tend to be that way. You have one, then your have three, then you have seventy-eleven.

  5. modestypress Says:

    I just saw a raccoon checking out the garden. So much for any more strawberries.

    I took a shot at it, but it just chuckled.

  6. Cameron Says:

    Beautiful! (See, I don’t always lurk; I just don’t have much to say!)

  7. modestypress Says:

    “I never said, ‘I want to be alone.’ I only said, ‘I want to be left alone.’ There is all the difference.”

    Cameron, you are always welcome in my blog, whether you are lurking or pirouetting beautifully at the center of the stage.


  8. The peonies are gorgeous. I have some similar-looking strawberries, but they’re growing in crappy soil, so I’m afraid to pick them.

  9. Average Jane Says:

    Mangoes? How about that? We have them here, see? I have a tree right in front of my house!

  10. modestypress Says:

    David,

    Tell your strawberries that you are their prince come to save them. (Something like “Sleeping Beauty.”

    Jane,

    I fear neither bananas nor mangoes nor plantains will grow in our climate. We once tried to grow a melon. The plant grew and set one tiny fruit, about a centimeter in diameter.

  11. pandemonic Says:

    Lovely, but how do you keep the chipmunks away from your strawberries? I haven’t been able to enjoy a single one, since they rob me blind every day.

  12. modestypress Says:

    pan,

    I don’t know. The Friendly Neighbors, 1/4 mile away, massacred 41 chipmunks in rat traps. We have 3 chipmunks, and they seem to be satisfied by eating sunflower seeds that fall from our bird feeder and by eating my wife’s plants on our front porch. They have nibbled a strawberry or two, but have not predated in a serious way.

  13. modestypress Says:

    We have picked an amazing abundance of strawberries. Some of them have bites taken out of them (presumably by either slugs or chipmunks), but most of the strawberry is still there for us to enjoy. Unfortunately, Random Granddaughter, who probably could consume most of our crop by herself, is in Chicago visiting her dad.


Leave a Reply

