Book Notes

September 12, 2009

Book notes for Pete and David.

Pete, you suggested I read Gold Coast, by Nelson DeMille. I just finished reading it. The book was very stimulating, entertaining, thoughtful, and well-written, and I plan to read the sequel. I thank you for the suggestion.

The main lesson I drew from reading it was not to get involved in a ménage à trois with a Mafia don and my wife, not a kink I am likely to pursue. (My wife has made it clear to me that if I am not faithful to her, I am not likely to live for a long time. I don’t think she would bother to hire someone from the Mafia to help her hit me.)

I presume you are adhering to the same sensible policy in regard to your lovely bride.

Pete, in turn I will suggest two possible books for you to read. They are not exactly like Gold Coast and I don’t know if you will like either book, so please don’t put out a contract on me if you read either and find you don’t like them.

One is called Vertical Run, by Joseph Garber.

The other is Vanishing Act by Thomas Perry.

David, on more than one occasion, you have suggested I read The Road to Wellville by T. Coraghessan Boyle. I just checked it out of the library and I have started reading it.

It does indeed seem to relate in a deep way to my family’s history. (My paternal grandfather was a big fan of Dr. John Harvey Kellogg.) Although I have only started reading the book, I do already sense a connection and it does bring back moving memories.

 

4 Responses to “Book Notes”


  1. Ah — I do think you will like it very much as you go on with it. It’s very funny.

    • modestypress Says:

      It is indeed very funny, and indeed brings back some very eccentric memories. I am wondering whether my Aunt Henriette has ever read it. If not, I wonder if I should send her a paperback copy.

  2. Pete Says:

    Sorry I have neot been around for a few days. School has started and work is insane! I’m glad you enjoyed it, and hope you saw similarities in the sense of humor. It does send a rather strong message about cheating, doesn’t it? Somehow it also sent a message to me that being filthy rich is not all it is cracked up to be. I am in search of new reading material and will check out your recommendations. You may understand what I meant about not liking the way Gold Coast ended, but the sequel brings things to a better close.

  3. modestypress Says:

    Pete, I understand about being very busy with insane work. Although I am retired, my wife is a very busy boss and thinks I should stay very busy or I will get in a lot of trouble.

    I understand that being filty rich is not all it is cracked up to be, as shown in Gold Coast. On the other hand, Joanna, my cousin who became a millionaire by learning Chinese, handled being rich fairly gracefully, and now has a library in Taiwan named after her because of her good deeds with her millions.

    It is a matter not of what life hands you, but what you do with what lands in your lap, whether it comes from a silver spoon or from another part of the plumbing. I am now reading the second book and finding it interesting and engrossing so far and looking forward to seeing where it goes.


Leave a Reply

