Quick Notes

October 9, 2009

We are heading off this morning to see the mommies and Random Granddaughter. I don’t have much time to write and may not until next week. We spoke with Mommy last night (RG’s birth mother).

My daughter has started graduate school and is having a hard time with her first class, which involves fairly advanced calculus. She is studying like crazy and feeling very stressed. She mostly wants to be left alone to study, so we won’t bother her.

RG is doing fine with kindergarten, though as an introvert she is somewhat stressed by all the social interaction. There is more, but I don’t have time to describe now, but overall she seems to be doing fine. Her cross-country competition is over. Pete was worried about her being injured. I communicated the concern to Mommy. She is aware of the issues.

RG is still taking piano lessons and seems to enjoy them.

Sylvie, their wonderful cat, has had health issues. She is getting older, has oversensitive skin, and may be developing cancer. Her condition is very unusual and the vets are a bit puzzled. This is sad because she is a remarkable cat, extremely extroverted and loving.

That’s all I have time for. My wife will get up soon and start yelling at me if I am not ready to go.

6 Responses to “Quick Notes”

  1. Karen O Says:

    Poor Sylvie. (Pretty name.) I hope she lives a good while longer, but doesn’t suffer.


  2. Oh, poor sweetheart.

    If the Mommies haven’t already tried this, they might consider switching to a brand of food that has absolutely no grain-based carbs. Many skin issues in animals are caused by grain allergies. I feed my girls a brand called Wellness, and there’s another excellent (but expensive) brand called Innova. Both use human-grade meat ingredients and are fortified with non-grain-based carbs — usually carrots, potatoes, and/or tomatoes. I’ve noticed a decrease in skin issues and also hairballs since I started using no-grain foods.

  3. Karen O Says:

    My daughter’s dog, Cane, has grain allergies which cause him to itch a lot. They buy the dog foods without grains, & watch what “table food” they allow him.

    A few years ago, I had a cat named Angel who was very, very affectionate, sweet, & feisty (with her sister, Peanut). She was the runt of the litter & never grew past the size of a 5 or 6-month old kitten.

    The poor thing had a compromised immune system, which eventually led to her being so itchy she lost fur & was bloody. We tried different foods & allergy shots, but nothing worked. She wasn’t even 3 yrs. old when she had to be “put to sleep”.

    The vet who had treated her cried when she had to administer that final shot.

    So when my neighbor showed up with a kitten that had been left on her porch in a box, & said her name was Angel, I couldn’t resist.

  4. woo Says:

    Poor Sylvie. I hope the grain-avoidance tip works.

    Hoping, also, that you all had a fun weekend and that RG was able to help her Mama with the calculus (I feel sure this would be well within her capabilities).

  5. modestypress Says:

    I will pass on the grain avoidance tips to the mommies. We saw Sylvie this weekend. A lot of fur had been shaven for her operation, but she was fairly chipper. Apparently she purred even as the stitches were being removed.

    I was sitting and reading the book Pete recommended (Gate House) and Sylvie in true cat style sat on the book on my lap and purred.

  6. modestypress Says:

    RG, like my wife, is very sensitive to noise and commotion. She was supposed to do a math demonstration at a kindergarten open house, but the teacher’s loudspeaker had bad feedback screaming, so RG went into another classroom and started crying.

    She is a very bright child, taller than any of the other kindergartners, can run 1/2 mile, and has the vapors with the slightest provocation.

    At her insistence, we bought her a pizza with no toppings, just cheese. She told Mommy (birth mother), “This pizza burned my mouth” [too much spice].

    Mommy said, “You are imagining things.”

    Her imagination (as a great artist, painting and piano) is so vivid, by then she probably had convinced herself she was suffering from a spicy pizza.


Leave a Reply

