V3 Rides into the Sunset

October 26, 2009

As I’ve mentioned, V2, who reads only memoirs is pretty in a wan, ethereal way. Her younger sister, V3, is attractive and vigorous, and always strikes me as very presentable and conscientious about making a good impression on customers and fellow workers. (This description fits my wife as well.)

However, I was a bit surprised the last time I encountered V3. I was parking my little car in the main library’s underground parking garage. I looked up and saw her roll into the garage on a large, impressive motorcycle.

When I was in my twenties, I thought it would be cool to own a motorcycle, and I rode on the back of a couple of friends’ motorcycles a few times.. However, I was quite aware that if I tried to ride one myself I would kill myself in very short order. My brother, more adventurous than I am, owned a large BMW for a while. However, one day he took a jolly spill. Aside from a few scrapes, he was not injured, but he said to himself, A fellow could kill himself this way and sold the bike a few weeks later.

I am not really surprised at women riding motorcycles, either. When my wife and I owned a pre-press business, two female employees owned and rode motorcycles.

However, I had never thought of V3 as a biker sort of gal. I walked over as she parked and said hello. I noticed that she owned an unusual brand of bike (which I don’t remember) and that it looked exceptionally spiffy and well appointed. I asked her about it.

“I think most motorcycles are kind of ugly and offensive,” she said. “I spent a lot of time choosing one that not only runs well, but also looks very tasteful and attractive.”

Which struck me as fine, but also very feminine. If my wife were into motorcycles, that is exactly how she would approach choosing her steed.

I am all for equal rights for men and women, and to the extent that a man can be a “feminist” I think I qualify. However, there is no doubt in my mind that there are innate differences between men and women that pop up in all sorts of odd ways.

6 Responses to “V3 Rides into the Sunset”

  1. trucie Says:

    See, now I’m intrigued by what type of motorcycle V3 had. I love motorbikes myself, although I prefer to ride pillion than pilot my own… because I don’t want to kill myself (all the time) but it would be fine to be killed by someone else… wait, that can’t be right…

  2. Pete Says:

    I have owned 4 bikes and I am done. I will not deny that I am immature and foolish behind the handlebars. There is nothing more wxciting to me that feeling the G-forces peeling you off the bike (Or trying anyway) I will surely die if I ever get another bike. Last time I rode one I borrowed my buddy’s and did 120 mph in a 50 zone. I’m done, thank you. BTW, 0-120 in under 10 seconds is quite the rush! But I don’t recommend it. Did Imention I am immature and foolish on a motorcycle?

  3. modestypress Says:

    Pete,

    I have two reactions to your comment.

    1. I will not ride on the back of your motorcycle. I hope you are not offended.

    2. Somehow this fits into DeMille’s Gold Coast books. I am not sure how, but I am sure it does.

  4. Pete Says:

    Random – I now respect you more than ever for having the wisdom to never hitch a ride with me.
    And I can see Mr. Sutter doing something like that, maybe 150 in Susan’s Acura. Heck, he sunk his own boat!


  5. I’ve always found the idea that men and women are “the same” offensive. Equal but different, is more like it, though how different exactly we are is a bit puzzling to me. I do find something about motorcycles appealing, but not enough to purchase one. I agree that I would much rather have the job of hanging on than the job of driving.


Leave a Reply

