An Ordinary Person

November 19, 2009

At the gym where I work out every other day, young people (high school students, college students, recent graduates) work at the desk to hand out locker keys and towels.

Yesterday, the young lady smiled broadly as she handed me a towel.

“You look happy,” I said.

“I AM happy,” she replied. “I am getting married in two weeks.” Her smile widened.

“In a week, my wife and I will celebrate our 44th anniversary,” I replied. She looked happy for us, also.

On the day of our anniversary, we will visit Random Granddaughter’s kindergarten at the school for Very Bright Children. Last night my wife and I chatted about it.

“She is supposed to perform in a play for the parents,” Mrs. Random said. “I hope she doesn’t break down and start sobbing in the middle of it. She gets herself so worked up.”

“She wants to be the center of attention and then she hates being the center of attention,” I said. “I hope she learns to deal with being just an ordinary person like the rest of us. Though, of course, she will be an extraordinary ordinary person.”

4 Responses to “An Ordinary Person”


  1. Happy upcoming Anniversary! It was nice of you to not warn Happy Towel Girl that marriage isn’t necessarily the primrose path she anticipates.

  2. modestypress Says:

    Happy towel girl is probably stronger than I am. The gym director was in rather a testy mood that day, so if she had knocked me for a loop, he would probably have knocked her for a loop, and who knows where it all might have ended?

    Also, probably one couple in ten thousand probably finds marriage to be a primrose path, and if she had been one part of such a happy couple, I might have caused her years of distress wondering when the opium dream would end.

  3. modestypress Says:

    Thank you for the anniversary present.

  4. C'hele Says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    (C’hele then hands over a bouquet of assorted showy flowers to you and Mrs. R.)

    Wow. I am so impressed……….*chuckle.* (Seriously!)

    Hugs šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

