Brief and Incomeplete Update

January 8, 2010

I took the truck to to the mainland for service. We have a brilliant garage. Why are they so good I wondered? Because almost everyone who works there belongs to the same family?

Perhaps, but if it answers one question, it leaves another? How can a family get along so well and work so well together? Well, I found out, they are Palestinians. They are Palestinian Christians. They told me about hiding under the  bed as bullets went through their house during one of the wars. Then things got interesting for them…

They told me the water pump on our truck was about to break, so I said, “Please fix it,” which they did and it cost a lot,  so I don’t have $5 to send anybody this month as my cheap good deed of the month, though actually I sent $25 to my aunt Henriette so she can get a new sofa bed as my cousin Julie said Henriette is doing much better and is less crazy. I am not sure how anyone in my family can be less crazy. It’s sort of an oath my great-great-grandparents took that we would all be crazy.

I visited one of the libraries where I used to work. When I worked there, the library system presented a polished and friendly face to the world, but behind the scenes everyone was at each other’s throats. I saw many people I knew and learned everyone is still at each other’s throats. I asked about my old boss, who treated me quite badly when I was still working so she (former boss, could be promoted. The person I talked to, who just got married at the age of 60 (how romantic!), said, “The Wicked Witch of the West is doing fine” (so I guess I will not email her and suggest we become friends again).

I visited Random Granddaughter and Mommy (her birth mother) and saw Mama (my daughter), who passed her first term of calculus/statistics, but is completely stressed out.

RG was apparently very excited about my visit and wanted to show me her latest dolly, but went into a meltdown because she couldn’t find it, but then found where it had fallen off the couch (so be careful where you put your dolly or your spouse as the case may be). She showed me her doll’s hair net, which is also its bridal veil. RG is really into weddings right now, which may mean that there is something she is not telling her mommies, though as precocious as she is, I doubt she will need a shotgun wedding at the age of five years old.

I asked why her best friend across the street (I should probably stop using friend’s real name, so I will call her BFAS) is not going to the private School for Very Bright Children (SVBC) and Mommy said BFAS’ mom thinks it is a very elitist school and decided to send BFAS to public school  (though SVBC seems ultra PC to me even though most of  parents are wealthy. However, BFAS like RG is very  bright, so Mommy doubts that my  that BFAS is being well  served by public school.

I will have to finish this later.

10 Responses to “Brief and Incomeplete Update”

  1. Pete Says:

    WOW! Where to start…?
    a) Nothing better than a “brilliant garage!” except a cheap brilliant garage.
    b) Maybe some of those Christian stereotypes are simply not true!
    c) Very sorry about the waterpump. My power steering pump is in the same boat. Maybe I shold drive over to your brilliant garage!
    d) Glad to hear hings are looking up for Henrietta!
    e) It is a bummer working someplace where everybody is at eachother’s throats. As of yesterday there are 1,135 employees where I work! A regular Peyton Place! You can always be sure somebody is mad at somebody for something!
    f) YAY to Mama for passing stats!
    g) Maybe if you could get BFAS to go to SVBC, then RG would not hang out with with evil rich troublemaker you referred to earlier.

    Wow. I can’t believe I wrote all that… Great to see a new post from you!

  2. modestypress Says:

    Hi, Pete.

    a) This garage is not “cheap,” but so far we have never had to take anything back because it wasn’t done correctly. Poor work is rather expensive.

    b) In my experience, Christians, Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, Wiccans, Jains, Sikh’s, and so on are quite varied and should not be stereotyped.

    c) I don’t know if it is worth the drive, and I don’t guarantee their work, but I have never been unhappy with their work or service. And their family stories are fascinating.

    d) I am glad to hear things are looking up for Henriette, though I don’t know if the family is going to come up with enough money to buy her a new bed. At the moment, I can’t.

    e) So far my family seems to be getting along fine, and RG is on good terms with both moms, both dads, and all four grandpas and five grandmas.

    f) We are so proud of our daughter.

    g) Apparently the views between Mommy and BFAS’s mother are a little testy and touchy. I am staying away from the entire matter.

  3. woo Says:

    I, too, was fascinated by Wedding Cindy (the UK equivalent of Barbie) for a few years… and I’m not married or even close. So, you know, RG is probably just taken with the extra complex and fancy outfit… 😉

  4. mommy Says:

    Glad to see you post something. I was beginning to worry about you, as you hadn’t shown up anywhere and didn’t forewarn us that you’d be out of pocket for a while. Andree (how DO you put that little thingy over the “e”?) even devoted an entire thread to you at WMB and you didn’t respond to it!

  5. modestypress Says:

    Hi Mommy,

    I just completed the first session of my two session driver safety class. It went pretty well and there are only about a thousand things to improve for future sessions. I have to see what Andrée has to say.

    To get the accent over the “e” I cheat and use cut and paste. There are a couple of other ways I would have to look up.

    More later.


  6. I can’t keep all these acronyms straight.

  7. modestypress Says:

    Good point, David. Remind me what DID stands for, by the way.

  8. Karen O Says:

    Hi Random.

    Did you happen to see my comment on a recent Whirled Views about a dream I had about you?

    You came to visit, & were wearing a fireman’s outfit – hat & all – & asked for an aspirin. Just one aspirin.

  9. modestypress Says:

    Karen,

    I have been busy with something useful, so I have not been reading much worldmagblog of late. I am glad you let me know about your dream comment.

    Random Granddaughter has a fireman’s outfit, though she has moved on a bit, though she still gets excited when she sees a fire truck. She may still be a fire chief someday or perhaps marry a fire chief or chieftess, as the case may be.

    As far as my asking for an aspirin, my doctor tells me to take one baby aspirin each day. This may keep me alive longer, or set me on fire.


Leave a Reply

