April 4, 2010

The phone rang this Easter morning. A little voice wished her grandma and grandpa “Happy Easter.” As she is a child genius, not to mention a science fiction child, Random Granddaughter can keep all her grandmas (5) and grandpas (4) straight. Her mommies will take her to see two grandmas and two grandpas in Virginia soon.

The last time I took her to the library, she selected a book about a little girl growing up in colonial Williamsburg, which she found very interesting when I read it to her. Mommy (my daughter’s partner and birth mother of RG) said that when they go to Virginia to visit grandparents, they will take her to visit colonial Williamsburg as well. So far in her six years, RG has chosen careers as a train engineeress, ferry captainess, firechieftess, painteress, and teacheress (influenced a bit by Mommy) who teaches at the private school for Very Bright Children where RG attends kindergarten. I suspect that RG may now embark on a career as a historianess, though as a science fiction child, she may decide to invent time travel.

As a child, I read a lot of science fiction. I never liked “time travel” stories very much, in part because most of them involved paradoxes, such as suppose someone goes back in time and kills her own grandfather. In RG’s case, with two daddies and two mommies, and nine grandparents, this could get very complicated.

I have three final thoughts.

1. I am glad I am not the biological grandparent.

2. However, just to be the safe side, I will be very nice to her, anyway. For example, when the baby chicks arrive, we will let her pet and feed them.

3. I think she should wait until she grows up before tries to be a mad scientist who invents time travel. I will so advise the mommies.

5 Responses to “”

  1. Pete Says:

    Too late on the time travel thing. I read this morning that they think they might have it figured out. But I read it on FoxNews so it might not be true… ;+>

  2. modestypress Says:

    Some writer probably forecast the emergence of Fox News in a science fiction story I read as a child. Not possible I probably dismissed it.

    Actually I just looked at the article you are talking about. I don’t think the scientist examined the “paradox problem.” But as he is probably eleventy-seven times smarter than I, perhaps he has and solved it.


  3. Being RG at Christmas must be truly awesome. Perhaps if she put some of her spoils aside she won’t end up having to pay anything for college.

    • modestypress Says:

      As mean step grandparents, we are always on guard against Random Granddaughter being spoiled. Whe will have to work her way through college by licking floors clean.

  4. Norwichrocks Says:

    Mr Random – I’ve had to make my blog private due to one of my colleagues at work dobbing me in to the boss (the cow) but I’ve added you to the list of people who should still have access to it. If you can’t get in, could you let me know as it will mean I’ve done something wrong?! Thanks!
    Norwichrocks or Woo at Curiouser and Curiouser
    p.s. Pete and Waxingstrange, you should still have access, too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

