It’s a Tough Job…

June 17, 2010

Mrs. Random is obsessed with everything in our house being neat, tidy, in its proper place, and looking “respectable.” Mrs. Friendly Neighbor is somewhat the same way, but not quite so much. Her comment: “Mrs. Random is more like I am than I am.”

When Random Granddaughter was about two years old, she began to indicate disgust at bugs, slugs, and other little creepy things. I thought she was too prissy for a little kid. I would touch slugs to indicate that she should be less fussy. One of her first complete sentences to me was, “Grandpa, I would really like you not to slugs anymore.”

Although I am a feminist sort of guy, I came to the conclusion that some differences between men and women are inherent and not the products of socialization.

However, I warned Mommy (daughter’s partner and birth mother of RG) that when RG next comes to visit and see our teenage hens (aka the “juvenile delinquents”), she would have to help me collect sow bugs to feed chickens. The chickens regard sow bugs as the equivalent of candy. They like grass, but if it has multiple legs and scuttles, it is better than anything else, they think.

Mommy told me that RG has taken to collecting sow bugs, playing with them, and creating little houses for them to live in. [I guess this is how a kindergartner plays with dolls now.]

Worried that I might offend or traumatize RG by feeding darling little sow bugs to chickens, I told Mommy I would feed the chicks only a vegetarian diet for one day.

Mommy replied by email, “RG knows that humans eat chickens [even though some keep them as pets]. So if she is all right with that, she should be able to handle the chickens eating sow bugs.

“It’s a tough job being at the top of the food chain, but somebody has to do it.”

12 Responses to “It’s a Tough Job…”

  1. klasko Says:

    Hello Random,

    I’ve been thinking about you lately and thought I’d check out your blog to see how you and your family are doing. Victoria wrote to me off the blog and told me that you have both been banned on the same day. Mickey must have been having a bad day. I pop in only once in awhile as I have been working on some other writing projects, just finally met my writing deadline (today) and have time for catching up with people. I have missed you. And thanks for mentioning me. I’ll be back more often now.

    Karen

  2. modestypress Says:

    Klasko,

    Thanks for dropping in. I took a look at your blog. We have to go out to paint the chicken coop, but I will read more later and leave some comments.

  3. Karen O Says:

    Hi Karen!

    How is Victoria doing? Does she still read WMB?

    I think it would be rather hard to read but not comment.

    Oh & … Hi Random!

  4. modestypress Says:

    Hi Karens,

    I am finding it surprisingly easy not only to not comment, but also to not read.

  5. Average Jane Says:

    I have missed reading you too, Mr.R.

  6. Cameron Says:

    Odd that we find ourselves reuniting over here. Good to see familiar names.

  7. klasko Says:

    Hello Cameron and Karen.

    Just wrote Victoria an email and haven’t heard back yet. I’ll let you know.

  8. modestypress Says:

    Is this turning into the new, very kind, and very polite, worldmagblog, hosted by an atheist? God and Jesus are probably rocking with laughter, and even the Holy Ghost is allowing himself to crack a small smile.

  9. Karen O Says:

    They just may be, Random. 🙂

  10. Norwichrocks Says:

    Well, at least those little sow bugs will have a nice final few days of life, right? In their own exclusive little houses… before they are fed to the chooks.

    Nature red in tooth and claw. 🙂


  11. Are those the little curly-up bugs also known as “potato bugs”? I remember harassing some such bugs in my immoderate youth.

  12. modestypress Says:

    No, the little bugs are not the same as “potato bugs.”

    Potato bugs are dreadful, and fully deserve to be harassed.

    http://www.potatobugs.com/


Leave a Reply

