Slaters

July 3, 2010

Just as the Garden Tour was finishing, the Barely Extended Family arrived. They had stopped at some of the other gardens on the way in, and at a playground for Random Granddaughter to have a break from adult pastimes.

After visiting the Friendly Neighbors Garden after it had closed they came over to our house. I feed the chickens sow bugs as a treat, but I had been warned that RG collects sow bugs in little houses, so I wasn’t sure if having her help me feed some to the chickens would be politically correct.

Gingerly, I mentioned, “I feed sow bugs to the chickens as a treat. Do you want to help me collect some for them?”

She looked at me with a blank look. Eventually I discovered she did not know the term, “Sow bug.” She calls them, “rolly pollies.” Once the linguistic difficulties were overcome, she enthusiastically helped me turn over rocks and put the rolly polly bugs into a plastic dish and feed them to the chickens.

I think RG’s position at the top of the food chain is safe, unless we discover grizzly bears living in our woods, or a great white shark living in the Friendly Neighbors’ duck pond.

http://soilbugs.massey.ac.nz/isopoda.php

In New Zealand, sow bugs are known as “slaters.” If Australia and New Zealand are at peace, they may use that term as well.

6 Responses to “Slaters”

  1. klasko Says:

    Maybe Random Granddaughter doesn’t have a problem feeding sow bugs to the chickens because they aren’t “her” roly polies.

  2. modestypress Says:

    I will have to use a double-blind test to see if RG can tell the difference between one of her roly pollies and one I find at random under a rock on our property.

  3. Norwichrocks Says:

    ah, I still call them ‘woodlice’ as they are colloquially known in England (no idea what the Scots or Welsh call them).

  4. Pete Says:

    My wife and I like to catch grasshoppers and put them in a can. After gathering several, we shake the can a few times to confuse the grasshoppers, then open the lid and cast them to the chickens. It is very entertaining watching both the hoppers and the chickens!


Leave a Reply

